Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-14-2008, 05:54 PM   #1
Eastern Girl
Crushed

Exp:
Default Is this a Good Deal?

I am buying a new tv and there is one on sale for $350, regularly $600. It's a 32" LCD tv, the brand is Konka. I haven't ever heard of this brand, so I am worried that it's cheap because the brand isn't that good and the tv will break down on me fairly soon after purchase. Should I get this one or pass it up and spend the cash on a better (known) brand? Appreciate the help since I am not good with this stuff at all.
Old 10-14-2008, 05:59 PM   #2
Russic
Dances with Wolves

Exp:

From what I can see it's a Chinese company which tells me if you were to require repairs you may be hard pressed to find anybody who can help. I only found one guy on a message forum who claimed he worked at a store that sold them and experienced a higher than average return rate on them.

That being said $350 isn't a whole lot to spend on a tv. If you needed a quick fix I'd say go for it. If you need something to last you more than a year I'd probably save up a little more and buy something with a little more notoriety.
Russic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 06:10 PM   #3
OBCT
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:

I agree with Russic.

I'd find it very difficult to recommend an obscure brand like Konka, but for some people it might be fine (ie. very light TV usage, non-discriminating visual taste, etc).

Personally, I would avoid off-brands such as this just because of the chance that if something does go wrong, I'm probably stuck with $350 sunk into a broken\damaged TV. Reputable retailers with excellent customer service and a good return policy go a long ways, too.
OBCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 09:00 PM   #4
ken0042