Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > Other Sports: Football, Baseball, Local Hockey, Etc...
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2013, 12:23 AM   #61
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

Late night story developing that Tiger could potentially be disqualified for an illegal drop on 15- not so much for the drop itself, but for signing a wrong scorecard as the illegal drop should have resulted in a penalty. Might just be a Golf Channel reporter looking for headlines. Will find out in the morning...

I don't see it happening, but would be a huge story.
Flabbibulin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:41 AM   #62
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flabbibulin View Post
Late night story developing that Tiger could potentially be disqualified for an illegal drop on 15- not so much for the drop itself, but for signing a wrong scorecard as the illegal drop should have resulted in a penalty. Might just be a Golf Channel reporter looking for headlines. Will find out in the morning...

I don't see it happening, but would be a huge story.
15 is the hole where he hit the flag and with the spin it went in the water.

Watching it, it appeared he dropped and hit from virtually the same spot...maybe back a couple yards.

Cant imagine what would have been illegal about all that.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 12:49 AM   #63
Street Pharmacist
Franchise Player
 
Street Pharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Salmon with Arms
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by transplant99 View Post
15 is the hole where he hit the flag and with the spin it went in the water.

Watching it, it appeared he dropped and hit from virtually the same spot...maybe back a couple yards.

Cant imagine what would have been illegal about all that.
Basically some twitter experts saying it was slightly off line from the original and something about the 2 years back thing. Some golf channel guy said he doubts anything comes of it
Street Pharmacist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 01:32 AM   #64
XxBIGDOGxX1817
Farm Team Player
 
XxBIGDOGxX1817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYC in LAX View Post
My bets:

Couples: 200-1
Cabrera: 114-1
Scott: 26-1
Rose: 23-1
Bradley: 23-1
not to shabby
XxBIGDOGxX1817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 06:41 AM   #65
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Hmmm....its possible Woods is in trouble I guess....is it illegal to drop further away? I wasnt aware of that and he admits to doing just that.


Quote:
Rule 26-1 is the rule in question. There are three options.

• Woods could have played the shot from a drop area, which he opted not to do.
“I went down to the drop area, that wasn’t going to be a good spot, because obviously it’s into the grain, it’s really grainy there,” Woods said. “So it was muddy and not a good spot to drop.”

• Woods also opted not to drop the ball, keeping the point where it last crossed the water between the hole and the spot where he dropped. The ball entered the water off the front left portion of the green. Woods’ hit his shot from the middle of the fairway.

• The final option is the return to the original spot where he played, and drop the ball “as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original ball was last played.”

“I went back to where I played it from,” Woods said, “but I went 2 yards further back and I took, tried to take 2 yards off the shot of what I felt I hit.”

This is the problem in question. If Woods played the shot 2 yards from the original spot, which he said he did, he could be deemed to have taken an illegal drop and be disqualified
I love the game and respect the rules for sure...but this one just seems strange to me. He didnt improve his lie and dint shorten the yardage. Just seems like the spirit of the rule is being trampled here.

i guess we will know more in a couple hours.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:03 AM   #67
moon
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lethbridge
Exp:
Default

Hopefully Tiger DQ's himself as he should, if not hopefully the 2 stroke penalty is enough to ensure that he is not only out of the running for winning but far enough back that we don't have to see everytime he decides to scratch his behind or wipe his nose.
moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:04 AM   #68
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

You are allowed to take the ball back as far as you want if it goes directly into a water hazard. Even Furyk did when he chunked it into the water on 15 (commentators even said so). I think the issue here is Tiger did actually hit the green and spin back into the water, possibly negating his ability to take the ball back 2 yards.
Flabbibulin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:05 AM   #69
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

Edit- maybe the can assess penalty after the fact. Looks like they have. If that is the case, he should be DQ'd according to the rules.

Last edited by Flabbibulin; 04-13-2013 at 08:10 AM.
Flabbibulin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:08 AM   #70
moon
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lethbridge
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flabbibulin View Post
They cant assess the penalty now. Thats the problem. Scorecard has been signed, which is the the DQ worthy offense. Its not a general 2 stroke penalty, its a 2 stroke penalty on that specific hole.
Haven't they already assessed the two stroke penalty?
moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:10 AM   #71
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flabbibulin View Post
They cant assess the penalty now. Thats the problem. Scorecard has been signed, which is the the DQ worthy offense. Its not a general 2 stroke penalty, its a 2 stroke penalty on that specific hole.

Im confused i think....the penalty has been assessed already...he is now -1 for the tourney, but he will be allowed to play if he so chooses today.

Faldo is waxing on about how he should DQ himself today even though he doesnt have to and if he doesnt...he is ruining the integrity of the game...yet that rule says he doesnt have to.

This is going to turn into a #####storm.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:11 AM   #72
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Looking at this now....he
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:14 AM   #73
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

Yup, edited my post after i saw that they have.

And a rule change 2 years ago saves him from DQ by the looks of it. Penalties can be assessed after the fact if the player didnt know he broke a rule. 2 years ago though, this would have been a clear DQ.

Last edited by Flabbibulin; 04-13-2013 at 08:16 AM.
Flabbibulin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:14 AM   #74
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Looking at replays etc of the whole sequence....it looks like he literally moved back about 3 feet.

This is where the rule and I have a disconnect....if he knew this was a violation, he simply would have just taken a bit off the same swing from the same spot and at very worst would have at most still bogeyed the hole.

Its now an 8......because of a perfect shot and a really bad break.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:15 AM   #75
Senator Clay Davis
Franchise Player
 
Senator Clay Davis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maryland State House, Annapolis
Exp:
Default

David Stern laughs at the golf possibly eliminating its biggest star. No way he'd let that happen if he were PGA commish. Seriously though that might be the worst best shot of all time. Tiiger legit could have holed it for eagle, now in effect made triple bogey. Ouch
__________________
"Think I'm gonna be the scapegoat for the whole damn machine? Sheeee......."
Senator Clay Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:23 AM   #76
moon
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lethbridge
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by transplant99 View Post
Looking at replays etc of the whole sequence....it looks like he literally moved back about 3 feet.

This is where the rule and I have a disconnect....if he knew this was a violation, he simply would have just taken a bit off the same swing from the same spot and at very worst would have at most still bogeyed the hole.

Its now an 8......because of a perfect shot and a really bad break.
The guys on Golf Channel (even Tiger apologist Begay) all seem to say that they all know the rule.

I think maybe you can say he was pissed about his shot and not thinking about it but at the very least his caddy should have figured out that was a violation.
moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:25 AM   #77
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

I just dont understand these analysts on the golf channel all calling for Tiger to DQ himself because the rules say he shouldnt have done what he did...yet the rules also say he shouldnt be dq'd becaue of the way things happened. Hell of a double standard you pompous asses.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:32 AM   #78
moon
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lethbridge
Exp:
Default

Isn't it because they are saying that he wasn't ignorant of the rule and that while he technically fits under the rule the intent of the rule wasn't designed to bail Tigger out of his mistakes?

Seems like they have a good point.
moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:40 AM   #79
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moon View Post
Isn't it because they are saying that he wasn't ignorant of the rule and that while he technically fits under the rule the intent of the rule wasn't designed to bail Tigger out of his mistakes?

Seems like they have a good point.

No....he was told before he signed the scorecard by the rules officials that there was no violation ( Augusta just releades a stement saying so).....so he signed that with the understanding he didnt do anything wrong.

No way he can now be expected to fall on the sword because someone else gave him information that long after changed.
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 08:46 AM   #80
transplant99
Fearmongerer
 
transplant99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:
Default

Here is their statement....


Quote:
"Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods on the 15th hole.

"In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

"After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.

"The subsequent information provided by the player's interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round."
transplant99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:21 AM.

Calgary Flames
2024-25




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2021 | See Our Privacy Policy