Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-17-2008, 05:05 PM   #1
Azure
Had an idea!

Exp:
Default Soundproofing a room...

I'm going to be renovating and building a fitness room pretty soon, and I'm looking to soundproof it.

It doesn't have to be 'perfect'.....but a low-cost, effective paneling that reduces the sound would be great.

I'm a complete noob in this regard.

Where do I start?
Azure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 05:13 PM   #2
zarrell
First Line Centre

Exp:

Acoustic insulation, or even regular insulation in the wall cavity is the first step. Then you could double up the drywall on one or either side of the room. Probably the cheapest route to go.

zarrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 06:33 PM   #3
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.

Exp:

The acoustic insulation is pretty much useless, we used it for our basement reno and I can hardly tell it's there.. Though I pretty much expected that from the research I did.

However that's from a home theater point of view, if this is an exercise room then the range of frequencies you want to mask is probably much less, so not sure how well the acoustic insulation would do.

The one option I found that I really wanted to do was Green Glue: http://www.greenglue.ca

Basically this involves 2 layers of drywall with this in between, and from what I've read the results are quite impressive.

In my case the area was so big (800 square feet of basement) the cost was too much.. but for a smaller room it might be worth the cost.
Old 05-17-2008, 06:55 PM   #4
I-Hate-Hulse
Franchise Player

Exp: