Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 11-07-2016, 05:41 PM   #21
fleuryisgod
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

Just made the swap myself. Paying the same price as I was for wind but now have a proper network...if anyone else is swapping and feels like throwing in my phone number as a referral I'd be happy to PM it to you, just sayin!
fleuryisgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 07:08 PM   #22
ken0042
Playboy Mansion Poolboy
 
ken0042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Close enough to make a beer run during a TV timeout
Exp:
Default

For somebody who has signed up- do they have a US add on for data?
ken0042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 08:48 PM   #23
opendoor
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042 View Post
For somebody who has signed up- do they have a US add on for data?
From what I understand, as of right now they don't have anything for the US. I don't even think you get service down there with a Public Mobile SIM. But it sounds like they're introducing US roaming add ons this month, but who knows how they'll be priced.
opendoor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to opendoor For This Useful Post:
Old 11-09-2016, 11:05 AM   #24
fleuryisgod
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042 View Post
For somebody who has signed up- do they have a US add on for data?
No US add on yet. Only add on I could get was the 400 minutes of international calling for $15.
fleuryisgod is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fleuryisgod For This Useful Post:
Old 11-10-2016, 02:10 PM   #25
StevenAbootman
Draft Pick
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

Is there any point trying to get your current provider to match this deal? I have been with Virgin for a while now and have no complaints but this looks too good to pass on.
StevenAbootman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 02:41 PM   #26
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

You can try but I'm 99% certain it wont work.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GoinAllTheWay For This Useful Post:
Old 11-10-2016, 02:54 PM   #27
zzibradleyizz
Farm Team Player
 
zzibradleyizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenAbootman View Post
Is there any point trying to get your current provider to match this deal? I have been with Virgin for a while now and have no complaints but this looks too good to pass on.
I tried with Rogers, as I expected, they said no. But just wanted to give them a chance!
zzibradleyizz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zzibradleyizz For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2016, 01:41 PM   #28
GreenHardHat
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Exp:
Default

My sim just came in the mail the other day. I might activate it tonight.

They also released information about US roaming:
$8 for unlim talk = 10 days
$8 for unlim text (no mms) = 10 days
$20 for 1GB = 10 days
$36 for the above for 10 days.
GreenHardHat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GreenHardHat For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2016, 02:20 PM   #29
slots881
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I changed over yesterday, took maybe 10 mins and was super easy. No compliants so far with service.
slots881 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to slots881 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2016, 02:30 PM   #30
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenHardHat View Post
My sim just came in the mail the other day. I might activate it tonight.

They also released information about US roaming:
$8 for unlim talk = 10 days
$8 for unlim text (no mms) = 10 days
$20 for 1GB = 10 days
$36 for the above for 10 days.
Yet. They are working on it. I was on board before they introduced this, even happier now to know it's available and very reasonable IMO. Hoping they can extend this kind of plan into other countries too.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 02:45 PM   #31
ken0042
Playboy Mansion Poolboy
 
ken0042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Close enough to make a beer run during a TV timeout
Exp:
Default

Just looking at the coverage map I just see 4G, no LTE. For those of you with phones, are you showing 4G or LTE with your signal strength?

Don't get me wrong, 4G is still pretty good. I'm just at a point where I would only be saving $10 per month, but losing 2 GB of data. I rarely go over 3 GB, and if I do it's never two months in a row. So the 12 GB over 3 months may just work.
ken0042 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2016, 02:53 PM   #32
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

My phone (on PM) is currently showing LTE. It's absolutely available.

Last edited by GoinAllTheWay; 11-14-2016 at 02:56 PM.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GoinAllTheWay For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2016, 03:05 PM   #33
Yellefan
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SW
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042 View Post
Just looking at the coverage map I just see 4G, no LTE. For those of you with phones, are you showing 4G or LTE with your signal strength?

Don't get me wrong, 4G is still pretty good. I'm just at a point where I would only be saving $10 per month, but losing 2 GB of data. I rarely go over 3 GB, and if I do it's never two months in a row. So the 12 GB over 3 months may just work.


It's LTE on my iPhone. Been on this plan for a week and have noticed no difference between this and my Telus plan I had previously.

Last edited by Yellefan; 11-14-2016 at 03:10 PM.
Yellefan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Yellefan For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2016, 06:08 PM   #34
Qwerty
Backup Goalie
 
Qwerty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellefan View Post
It's LTE on my iPhone. Been on this plan for a week and have noticed no difference between this and my Telus plan I had previously.
I have a 1+1 and it actually still says "Telus Mobile" as my carrier and have noticed absolutely no difference from when I was with Telus last month.

I would recommend this to anyone especially with the 4G/month for $40 promotion.
Qwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 12:52 PM   #35
zzibradleyizz
Farm Team Player
 
zzibradleyizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Activating my account right now, if someone wants the referral bonus send me a PM.

And DONE!

Last edited by zzibradleyizz; 11-15-2016 at 12:55 PM.
zzibradleyizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 01:41 PM   #36
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Dam! Sorry I missed the chance.

The referral works both ways though, I think? Both parties get a discount? If so, anyone porting over shortly, please use me as referral? Pretty please?
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 02:09 PM   #37
Massonite
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Massonite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

I've had them for a couple months, no problems at all. Used various unlocked phones and they all worked like a charm. Service is great, data speeds are fast. Best bang for your buck in the business.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter!
Massonite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 02:14 PM   #38
zzibradleyizz
Farm Team Player
 
zzibradleyizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Was super quick and painless to set up too. Just need to order the SIM card and wait for that to show up, which took 2 days.

Also note, the promo ends November 20th and you do need to order your SIM card ASAP to not miss out!
zzibradleyizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2016, 10:27 PM   #39
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Switched over. Process was pretty painless and quick. Was a bit concerned about the province only local incoming call restriction but the long distance add-on seems to take care of that at a very reasonable price.

Got my sim pretty quick, only one day. If you still want in on the deal you should order it today ASAP.
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2016, 09:33 AM   #40
skudr248
Powerplay Quarterback
 
skudr248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winchestertonfieldville Jail
Exp:
Default

FYI:

http://www.virginmobile.ca/en/plans/.../postpaid/byop

Virgin matched public mobile promo plan, I believe it expires on the 21st. It's in BC and AB only so if you don't see if online double check your province. It's per month and not 120 days like public and you can go in store.
skudr248 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to skudr248 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016