Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 07-26-2017, 08:40 PM   #401
Caged Great
Franchise Player
 
Caged Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Is anyone's wifi being ridiculously slow today? I'm not using a VPN.

I normally get 2-3 MBPS on the wifi in the kitchen and today I'm getting a whopping 0.09. Feels like I've teleported to 1996.
__________________
Fireside Chat - The #1 Flames Fan Podcast - FiresideChat.ca
Caged Great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 10:08 PM   #402
Buff
Franchise Player
 
Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: I don't belong here
Exp:
Default

I had the door to door offer today too. I am sick so my wife listened to the pitch. After showing me everything Telus had to offer, I'm tempted to make the switch.

We have Internet, TV and Phone through Shaw right now and would switch it all over.

I'm on an old plan and I think I may want to upgrade that if I stick with Shaw. One of the huge things that is keeping me back is a show I've PVR'd. I don't want to lose the Tragically Hip's final concert. I watch it a lot when I'm on the treadmill or sick (like today) and just want to veg.
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 05:55 AM   #403
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buff View Post
I had the door to door offer today too. I am sick so my wife listened to the pitch. After showing me everything Telus had to offer, I'm tempted to make the switch.

We have Internet, TV and Phone through Shaw right now and would switch it all over.

I'm on an old plan and I think I may want to upgrade that if I stick with Shaw. One of the huge things that is keeping me back is a show I've PVR'd. I don't want to lose the Tragically Hip's final concert. I watch it a lot when I'm on the treadmill or sick (like today) and just want to veg.
If that is the only thing holding you back, there are other methods of getting the concert...on the shady side of the net.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - hold on tight, we're going in dry!
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 11:45 AM   #404
Buff
Franchise Player
 
Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: I don't belong here
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
If that is the only thing holding you back, there are other methods of getting the concert...on the shady side of the net.
I dug into it a bit further and the plan being offered by Telus is cheaper, but to get some of the things I want to keep it would bring it up to $20 more per month with Telus. In fact, if I updated my Shaw plan it would also bring it up to $20 more per month. Until Shaw forces me to change plans, I'm going to keep my current plan.
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 12:39 PM   #405
Iggy City
First Line Centre
 
Iggy City's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Exp:
Default

FYI, Shaw Internet 75 replaced Internet 30. Same price just higher speed and data cap.

They say existing customers on Internet 30 will be switched over automatically sometime in October but you can call/chat in to have it done right now.
Iggy City is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Iggy City For This Useful Post:
Old 08-02-2017, 02:29 PM   #406
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buff View Post
I dug into it a bit further and the plan being offered by Telus is cheaper, but to get some of the things I want to keep it would bring it up to $20 more per month with Telus. In fact, if I updated my Shaw plan it would also bring it up to $20 more per month. Until Shaw forces me to change plans, I'm going to keep my current plan.
Ya, unless there was good reason I wouldn't switch to Telus. I would only wish that on a few of my worst enemies.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - hold on tight, we're going in dry!
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 09:43 AM   #407
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

The Internet 150 plan has apparently scrapped its usage cap, Shaw is promoting it as "Now with Unlimited Data". The support monkey I chatted with says this is in effect for all existing or new subscribers. Caps seem to be in place still for all other plans.

I've never come close to exceeding the cap anyway, but this might be of interest to some.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Finger Cookin For This Useful Post:
Old 08-04-2017, 02:38 PM   #408
Hemi-Cuda
wins 10 internets
 
Hemi-Cuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: slightly to the left
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finger Cookin View Post
The Internet 150 plan has apparently scrapped its usage cap, Shaw is promoting it as "Now with Unlimited Data". The support monkey I chatted with says this is in effect for all existing or new subscribers. Caps seem to be in place still for all other plans.

I've never come close to exceeding the cap anyway, but this might be of interest to some.
The cap was never in effect for the 150 plan. When they first introduced it with the discount, if you read the fine print it said users will face no restrictions or extra billing for going over the data limit, which effectively meant unlimited data
Hemi-Cuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2017, 02:51 PM   #409
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

The two year Value Plan Agreements I can find don't speak at all about usage caps, data limits, or associated billing, and I don't recall there being any such language in the agreement I signed. Not to mention the usage caps and usage per month has been quite prominent on Shaw's Customer Care page for years now.

Either way - the unlimited usage is being promoted now, not possibly buried in fine print.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 10:15 AM   #410
Jacks
Franchise Player
 
Jacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

Shaw pissed me off for the last time. Switched to Cancom, same infrastructure that Shaw uses, just plugged in the modem and was good to go. 60MB down and 6MB up for $50 with no contract. Actual speeds are 71.42MB down and 6.6MB up. They are also upgrading internet 60 customers to internet 75 this fall for free and I can switch to internet 150 anytime for $70 per month. I was with Shaw for 20 years and they did nothing to retain my business except jerk me around.
Jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 11:26 PM   #411
Iceman90
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Iceman90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Behind the microphone
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacks View Post
Shaw pissed me off for the last time. Switched to Cancom, same infrastructure that Shaw uses, just plugged in the modem and was good to go. 60MB down and 6MB up for $50 with no contract. Actual speeds are 71.42MB down and 6.6MB up. They are also upgrading internet 60 customers to internet 75 this fall for free and I can switch to internet 150 anytime for $70 per month. I was with Shaw for 20 years and they did nothing to retain my business except jerk me around.
Now I am wondering how many Shaw resellers/MVNOs there are.
__________________
Fireside Chat - Official Podcast for the C of Red
New Episode Weekly! Listen Now: FiresideChat.ca
Iceman90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 12:34 AM   #412
Iceman90
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Iceman90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Behind the microphone
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacks View Post
Shaw pissed me off for the last time. Switched to Cancom, same infrastructure that Shaw uses, just plugged in the modem and was good to go. 60MB down and 6MB up for $50 with no contract. Actual speeds are 71.42MB down and 6.6MB up. They are also upgrading internet 60 customers to internet 75 this fall for free and I can switch to internet 150 anytime for $70 per month. I was with Shaw for 20 years and they did nothing to retain my business except jerk me around.
How do you find the service? No downtime? Would you say you get the same quality of connection that you did with Shaw?
__________________
Fireside Chat - Official Podcast for the C of Red
New Episode Weekly! Listen Now: FiresideChat.ca
Iceman90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 07:02 AM   #413
Jacks
Franchise Player
 
Jacks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

So far so good, only been a couple of days so far though.
Jacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 10:31 AM   #414
GreenHardHat
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Exp:
Default

Anybody have any reviews on the Shaw's Bluesky TV? I know there was a thread on it when it first came out in January, but I'm curious if opinions have changed now that it has been around for almost 8 months.
GreenHardHat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 11:00 AM   #415
fredr123
Franchise Player
 
fredr123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenHardHat View Post
Anybody have any reviews on the Shaw's Bluesky TV? I know there was a thread on it when it first came out in January, but I'm curious if opinions have changed now that it has been around for almost 8 months.
We've had it for a couple months now. I don't have too many complaints. The voice control feature is nice, but it's pretty basic. The menu is pretty slick and has only a tiny bit of lag from time to time. There are still layout and UI issues, but it's not nearly as bad as the previous generation. The remote doesn't have a skip :30 feature which is super annoying when you're watching a network recording. The integration of on demand programming is nice as are the apps to let you watch programs on your other devices.

I'm fairly happy with the service thus far. If I didn't get a promo price for trying it out, I probably wouldn't be too pumped about paying full price though.
fredr123 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fredr123 For This Useful Post:
Old 08-14-2017, 11:39 AM   #416
psicodude
First Line Centre
 
psicodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredr123 View Post
The remote doesn't have a skip :30 feature which is super annoying when you're watching a network recording.
Posted earlier in this thread, but do this to change the skip function to 30 secs:

Quote:
hit exit three times then 0030 it will switch to 30 seconds with a page up input.
psicodude is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to psicodude For This Useful Post:
Old 08-14-2017, 04:47 PM   #417
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredr123 View Post
The menu is pretty slick and has only a tiny bit of lag from time to time. There are still layout and UI issues, but it's not nearly as bad as the previous generation.
That may be reason enough for me to upgrade. I bought into the original gateway system when it was first released years ago. The menu lag is beyond annoying at times.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 09:55 PM   #418
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoinAllTheWay View Post
That may be reason enough for me to upgrade. I bought into the original gateway system when it was first released years ago. The menu lag is beyond annoying at times.
I use a Harmony 650 remote and have very little lag. If I use the remote it comes with it is really slow.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - hold on tight, we're going in dry!
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 10:22 AM   #419
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

I use a Harmony remote as well (only remote to use IMO) and it's the same as the one that came with the system. Both also require pin point accuracy for the portals to respond to inputs. My brother has the 2nd generation gateway and his is far more responsive. Talked to a Shaw rep last night and pricing seems to be a bit better than what I'm getting now. Just have to figure out "small tv" vs "med TV" theme packs. I'm finding that rather confusing, especially comparing it to what I have now so we don't wind up missing anything we currently have.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 10:42 AM   #420
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Interesting, mine works really well no matter where I point it, but I do have a big projector screen it bounces off of. I think I may have gone into the Harmony software and reduce the repeat delay or something to increase the responsiveness particularly for the Shaw box though.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - hold on tight, we're going in dry!
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016