Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-21-2019, 11:34 AM   #1
bax
#1 Goaltender

Exp:
Default The Volkswagen GTI

Hello!

I've been in the market for a Volkswagen GTI for about a year now. I've done my research and am certain this is the vehicle I would like, but I have no experience with shopping or purchasing vehicles. I have only ever owned one vehicle and I have had it for the last 11 years.

I found a GTI in my price range. 2015 with 65,000 KM for $22,000. I ran a carfax on the vehicle and saw that it had two claims on it- one for comprehensive at $6,000 and one for collision at $18,000. Does this make the vehicle a poor choice to purchase? Is there anything else about GTI's that I should be aware of before making a purchase?

This car is also coming from a used car dealership. I'm not sure if that has any bearing on anything at all.

Any advice about owning a GTI or about purchasing a used vehicle would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!
bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 11:36 AM   #2
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player

Exp:

Comp claim I wouldn't be too concerned with but a collision claim with an $18,000 payout is significant. Not sure it's one I'd want to pull the trigger on.

Other than that, great choice of cars. Hope you find one that works for you.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GoinAllTheWay For This Useful Post:
Old 03-21-2019, 11:39 AM   #3
burn_this_city
Franchise Player

Exp:

Find one with a clean title, there's plenty of fish in the sea. Also you're better off buying privately if possible. We had a 2012 for 6 years that we sold last spring, they are the best bang for buck in that segment.
burn_this_city is offline   Reply With Quote