Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 11-28-2017, 11:09 AM   #1
psyang
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:
Default The Swimming Thread

I haven't seen a dedicated thread to swimming, so I thought I'd start one. I'm a late bloomer, so I'm still learning and trying to improve, and thought this would be a good place to share techniques, workouts, gear, etc - anything swimming related.

A bit of my story. I grew up taking swimming lessons, and learned all the basic strokes. But I always found it odd that I couldn't do a length or two of front crawl without being totally winded. I wasn't in bad shape, but when I heard people swimming 40 lengths or more, it blew my mind.

About 7 or 8 years ago, I stumbled on a blog where a guy described the exact same thing. He went from 2 to 40 lengths in 10 days by using a system called "total immersion". I just checked, and the original blog post is still available here, though it looks like he's becoming a bit of an internet personality.

I took just a few of the techniques, and the next time I went to a pool, I was able to swim 15 lengths right off the bat. What was more amazing was that I was tired, but not completely winded at the end. Also, when I stopped, I found I was actually sweating, like a real workout. I don't think I ever broke a sweat after going swimming before.

Briefly, the things I started trying to do were:
  1. I'm out of breath after doing 1 or 2 lengths because I wasn't taking in enough oxygen when I breath, and because I used my legs too much. Legs use up a lot of oxygen because they have so many large muscles. To counter act this, I now just do a quick flutter kick on each stroke instead of kicking continuously. I also focus on breathing out all my air when my head is in the water, so I can get a good breath when I breathe.