Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Ivrnet

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2016, 04:38 PM   #21
FlameOn
#1 Goaltender
 
FlameOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jammies View Post
I did a speedtest after to Vancouver and it was 178 mbps download. I am off to download ALL the porn!
FlameOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 07:41 PM   #22
MrCallahan
Crash and Bang Winger
 
MrCallahan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Just replaced my modem (bridged mode)

First speed test (while streaming Netflix, and over Wifi)

MrCallahan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MrCallahan For This Useful Post:
Old 07-15-2016, 07:52 PM   #23
TurdFerguson
#1 Goaltender
 
TurdFerguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Shaw told me I need to replace my modem to get the 150 speeds. So even though I'm switched over to the 150 plan I am still only getting a out 32 down and 5up. Whats the big hardware enhancement that my 1 year old shaw modem doesn't have? I was still.expecting to see a meaningful improvement with the older hardware.
__________________
All hockey players are bilingual. They know English and profanity - Gordie Howe
TurdFerguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:02 AM   #24
OldDutch
First Line Centre
 
OldDutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North of the River, South of the Bluff
Exp:
Default

I upgraded yesterday and I am getting 120 down and 16 up on speed test on my iphone 6s using AC.

Seems a bit more snappy but not a huge leap like 20 to 50 the last time. I just like that upload is finally reasonable and my bill is $40 less a month. Ya I had to drop a few channels (oh no DejaView!) but I never watch TV anyways.
OldDutch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OldDutch For This Useful Post:
Old 07-16-2016, 10:08 AM   #25
Street Pharmacist
Franchise Player
 
Street Pharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kamloops
Exp:
Default

I get 160 up and 25 down regularly with wired, but only ~3-10 wifi with the TELUS router. It's it worth the switch?
__________________
Street Pharmacist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:35 AM   #26
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

BTW, it seems the newer DOCSIS 3.0 modems offered by Shaw support 24 bonded downstream channels, compared to 8 bonded downstream channels on older models. That's the reason 150 can't be offered on the older modems apparently. What modem do you currently have, TurdFerguson?

Last edited by Finger Cookin; 07-16-2016 at 10:37 AM.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 11:09 AM   #27
keratosis
First Line Centre
 
keratosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

This is for new customers only, correct?
__________________
Rubles?
keratosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 11:11 AM   #28
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

New customers get 150 for $49.90/month for year 1, $79.90/month for year 2. Existing customers get $79.90/month for both years. It's available to new and existing customers, provided the service is available in your area.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 11:22 AM   #29
heinz256
Draft Pick
 
heinz256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Really considering switching from Telus Fibre to this Shaw deal but not looking forward to the hassle of switching. Do I call Telus first to cancel and then call Shaw to get the deal? Or the other way around? Will the Shaw tech have to add any extra cabling or just switch out the modem? (home is a couple years old). Thanks!
heinz256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 11:31 AM   #30
keratosis
First Line Centre
 
keratosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finger Cookin View Post
New customers get 150 for $49.90/month for year 1, $79.90/month for year 2. Existing customers get $79.90/month for both years. It's available to new and existing customers, provided the service is available in your area.
Still a pretty good deal, I'll have to look into it, thanks.
__________________
Rubles?
keratosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 12:42 PM   #31
OldDutch
First Line Centre
 
OldDutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North of the River, South of the Bluff
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Street Pharmacist View Post
I get 160 up and 25 down regularly with wired, but only ~3-10 wifi with the TELUS router. It's it worth the switch?
I would bridge the modem and get a seperate wifi router. Even a $50 will probably get you way better reception and speed. The built in wifi on shaw and telus modems are POS.

You could always get one at a staples or best buy and retuen if there is no improvement.
OldDutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 01:42 PM   #32
accord1999
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heinz256 View Post
Really considering switching from Telus Fibre to this Shaw deal but not looking forward to the hassle of switching. Do I call Telus first to cancel and then call Shaw to get the deal? Or the other way around? Will the Shaw tech have to add any extra cabling or just switch out the modem? (home is a couple years old). Thanks!
Supposedly Telus will have a offer early next week to counter this Shaw offer so you could wait a couple of days.

Even when cancelling, you can try to get the Telus retention CS to match the Shaw offer. Some people have reported success at dslreports.com and redflagdeals.com.

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30870801-

Last edited by accord1999; 07-16-2016 at 01:55 PM.
accord1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 02:02 PM   #33
TurdFerguson
#1 Goaltender
 
TurdFerguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finger Cookin View Post
BTW, it seems the newer DOCSIS 3.0 modems offered by Shaw support 24 bonded downstream channels, compared to 8 bonded downstream channels on older models. That's the reason 150 can't be offered on the older modems apparently. What modem do you currently have, TurdFerguson?

I've got the arris sbg6782
__________________
All hockey players are bilingual. They know English and profanity - Gordie Howe
TurdFerguson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TurdFerguson For This Useful Post:
Old 07-16-2016, 02:10 PM   #34
MoneyGuy
#1 Goaltender
 
MoneyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Exp:
Default

I know savings are available but I haven't been paying attention. Just noticed my bill is $214! It includes cable, phone and Internet. Any ideas to reduce this? I could phone and ask for a reduction or I move to Telus, or I could cut the cord, so to speak. That's expensive.

Last edited by MoneyGuy; 07-16-2016 at 02:31 PM.
MoneyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 02:36 PM   #35
Street Pharmacist
Franchise Player
 
Street Pharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kamloops
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldDutch View Post
I would bridge the modem and get a seperate wifi router. Even a $50 will probably get you way better reception and speed. The built in wifi on shaw and telus modems are POS.

You could always get one at a staples or best buy and retuen if there is no improvement.
Anyone want to give suggestions on routers? I don't care too much about price. Not sure what affects it but new construction home, router is downstairs with a repeater upstairs both are in the middle of the house.
__________________
Street Pharmacist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 03:57 PM   #36
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurdFerguson View Post
I've got the arris sbg6782
That's still a dual band and DOCSIS 3.0 modem. You should be getting much better speeds. With a similar modem, I'm getting 120 down and 6.5 up.

But otherwise it's missing the extra bonded channels mentioned in my earlier reply.

Last edited by Finger Cookin; 07-16-2016 at 04:00 PM.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Finger Cookin For This Useful Post:
Old 07-16-2016, 06:05 PM   #37
TurdFerguson
#1 Goaltender
 
TurdFerguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

So i called into shaw and was told they wouldn't activate my new 150 service without the new modem. As such, I'm still on the 30 until the new modem is pinked up. They must want either my modem out of circulation or the new one in.
__________________
All hockey players are bilingual. They know English and profanity - Gordie Howe
TurdFerguson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TurdFerguson For This Useful Post:
Old 07-17-2016, 10:32 AM   #38
gaffobohs
Backup Goalie
 
gaffobohs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Exp:
Default

So I called telus with Shaw's offer but they said I'm maxed out at 50mb where I am as no fibre in Airdrie yet. She did beat Shaw's price by a couple of bucks and the free 4k PVR is a bonus. She wouldn't commit to giving me the 150mb when fibre does eventually roll out so not sure whether I should sign a 2 year plan on 50mb...

Sent from my SM-G935W8 using Tapatalk
gaffobohs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 12:00 PM   #39
ken0042
Playboy Mansion Poolboy
 
ken0042's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Close enough to make a beer run during a TV timeout
Exp:
Default

I split this into it's own thread- didn't want anybody to miss the deal.
ken0042 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to ken0042 For This Useful Post:
Old 07-17-2016, 12:03 PM   #40
SebC
tromboner
 
SebC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: where the lattes are
Exp:
Default

1 TB / 150 Mbps = 14.8 hours
SebC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
deal , moarspeed! , shaw , telus , wideopen150

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016