Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > Fire on Ice: The Calgary Flames Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-18-2024, 12:01 AM   #1
GullFoss
#1 Goaltender

Exp:
Default Dustin Wolf discussion thread

I'm not an expert as assessing talent, nor do I have any expertise in playing/coaching the goalie position.

For those that do, what's your early take on Dustin Wolf? Does he look promising in this stretch of games to end the season?

I've noticed how small he looks in the net. While he makes up for some of his size with quickness, is he substantially disadvantaged (as a smaller goalie) with regards to pucks he can't see or to pucks that get tipped because he takes up less of the net? Is he also disadvantaged with regards to lateral movement because he has more distance to travel to move from one side of the net to the other? Is he also disadvantaged in being able to track pucks as well because it's harder for him to see pucks through traffic due to his lack of height?

Curious to hear everyone's take on this.
GullFoss is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GullFoss For This Useful Post:
Old 03-18-2024, 12:12 AM   #2
Tbull8
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:

Yes to all of the above. Just like small players he will always have to prove he can play vs big players who have to prove they can’t. His size will always be a talking point, and I’m sure there will be times in his career that he gets beat because of it. But he’s also shown at every level, and his entire life, that he can overcome the disadvantages. He may never become a superstar top 5 nhl goalie, but I’m rooting for him, and I’m excited to see him prove people wrong yet again
Tbull8 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Tbull8 For This Useful Post:
Old 03-18-2024, 01:20 AM   #3
DeluxeMoustache

Exp: