Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-05-2010, 08:14 AM   #1
pdizzle
Draft Pick

Default Building House - Newbie Needs Help!

Hi guys,

---I'm hoping someone on here has some construction experience or some experience building their own home with a Calgary builder. I apologize in advance for being a bit of a "newb". This is my first time owning and building a house.---

Right now, I'm building with Albi Homes and they're just about to sign off on all the electrical, plumbing, framing, etc. and are going to start insulating and putting up drywall. Has anyone you know of done a third party inspection (outside of city inspectors & the builders inspectors) at this stage of the building game? I just want to make sure that all the plumbing seals are put in correctly, the electrical looks up to code, etc. before the walls are actually put up. That way, if something looks amiss, then we can fix the problem now rather than 3 months from now (which would considerably delay our possession). Also, we don't get to see any of the city/builder inspection reports until we take possession of the house. If I had a third party do an inspection at this time, I'd at least have an opinion in writing on the house's progress.

That said, do you know of any home inspectors that do such a thing? Can you recommend any? Am I completely crazy? Investing in a home costs a ton of money these days and I'd sort of like to protect my investment (or at least have peace of mind during the construction process).

Thanks!

P
pdizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 08:19 AM   #2
Sliver
evil of fart

Exp:

At first blush I thought it was a bit paranoid of you, but it's actually a really good idea.
Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 09:26 AM   #3
DrJ