Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 09-11-2019, 09:46 AM   #1
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default Rogers LTE has been down for about a week in Altadore/Lincoln Park

Surprised there hasn't been a Reddit or CP thread on this, as it has been over a week that LTE has not been working for Rogers customers in the Crowchild, north of Glenmore Tr region. Guessing a lot of Rogers customers aren't aware that manually turning off LTE and using 3G is an alternative. No communication or update from Rogers on this issue. All anyone I know (on Rogers) in this area gets is a cannot connect to cellular network .
Flabbibulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 02:53 PM   #2
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

That's odd as I'm with Rogers. Our house is in Garrison Green, which is technically in Lincoln Park and straddling Altadore; no issues with our LTE here.
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:37 PM   #3
Mccree
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I was in the area a few days ago and had no issues. With rogers as well.
__________________

Mccree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 06:45 PM   #4
psicodude
First Line Centre
 
psicodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

That doesn't really make sense. Looking at the cell map, there has to be 8 - 10 towers within range of those neighbourhoods. People would be freaking out.
psicodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 07:08 PM   #5
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

hmmm, I guess the area affected is much smaller than I thought- but Rogers LTE definitely not working just east of the military museum. The Rogers check network status page has been giving the "we're working to resolve the wireless network issue" for over a week now when I enter our postal code.

Anyway, more isolated issue than I thought and only anyone living pretty close to us would have the issue. Will just have to endure the pain of relying on wifi/3g for now.
Flabbibulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 06:27 AM   #6
Jimmy Stang
Franchise Player
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I have noticed noticed the issue for a few days when leaving work (Currie Barracks).

Iím on wifi all day, but once I get to my car and fire up Waze, get some music going, etc. there is no internet connection, despite the signal looking fine.

As I drive West and North to get home, I toggle the cellular radio off/on and the issue eventually resolves, but now I know thatís just because Iím driving away from the area.

Thanks for the tip to switch to 3G temporarily.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:10 AM   #7
psicodude
First Line Centre
 
psicodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I misunderstood the OP and thought you meant you weren't getting any data connection at all, sorry. It's completely plausible that a single tower has lost its data connection to the main network. I've always been curious about how Roger's handles their network out West as they don't actually own any infrastructure, AKAIK. I assume they just lease it from Shaw or Telus?
psicodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:12 AM   #8
getbak
Franchise Player
 
getbak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Rogers has its own infrastructure in Calgary.
__________________
Turn up the good, turn down the suck!
getbak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 02:19 PM   #9
Jimmy Stang
Franchise Player
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

For what it's worth, I checked my Fido app (probably a clone of the Rogers app), and it also mentions that I may be experiencing trouble in that area. I also reported the issue with the app.

Working from home today, but I'll see if the problem still exists tomorrow and report it again.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 03:49 PM   #10
Jimmy Stang
Franchise Player
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

The issue was still present on my lunch hour walk around Currie Barracks and Garrison Woods, however this afternoon my phone was causing my computer speakers to do that old school GPRS-style interference. So I flipped wifi off and I have noticed that I'm no longer on LTE, and my phone is bouncing around between 3G and GPRS.

So based on no actual knowledge of how this stuff really works, the Rogers network is acting differently this afternoon, and I'm going to jump to an uninformed conclusion and suggest that it is getting worked on as we speak.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 10:45 AM   #11
Flabbibulin
Franchise Player
 
Flabbibulin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

Appears to be back up now. Was about 2-3 weeks though.
Flabbibulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2019, 11:01 AM   #12
Jimmy Stang
Franchise Player
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Can confirm - data is working again over LTE.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:38 PM   #13
Agamemnon
#1 Goaltender
 
Agamemnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psicodude View Post
I misunderstood the OP and thought you meant you weren't getting any data connection at all, sorry. It's completely plausible that a single tower has lost its data connection to the main network. I've always been curious about how Roger's handles their network out West as they don't actually own any infrastructure, AKAIK. I assume they just lease it from Shaw or Telus?
In many/most cases in the West the Rogers towers connect to each other by microwave, the little round drum on the tower. TELUS/Freedom more often connect directly.
Agamemnon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 PM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016