Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 01-16-2020, 06:42 PM   #1
Engine09
#1 Goaltender

Exp:
Default Bank / Mortage Financing Company Issue

I have a mortgage renewal issue with Scotiabank and MCAP that is becoming absolutely ridiculous.

Scotiabank has been incredibly unhelpful, to the point of utter frustration. I basically hate their guts now and will never give them another penny as long as I am alive. They brush me off when I request copies of documents, will not give me a name or number of anyone higher up who can help, basically want me to get lost. They got their $3,200 of penalties but there were screw ups all the way around and I have questions.

The broker is trying to be helpful but passed me off to the people who do the paperwork and titles, they passed me off to MCAP who told me I need to go back and speak with Scotiabank. This is a recurring theme and I've gone through the cycle a few times.

I have zero knowledge in the area. Which ombudsman should I get in touch with and how does that work?

Thanks!
Engine09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:00 PM   #2
OMG!WTF!
Franchise Player

Exp:

So you're trying to switch from Scotia to MCAP? I would assume you need a payout statement? I think if I were you I'd go to the branch in person...with an appointment...and just tell them to get you what you need. There's usually a person you can talk to in person. But banks are notoriously unhelpful.
OMG!WTF! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 07:19 PM   #3
curves2000
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Engine09 View Post
I have a mortgage renewal issue with Scotiabank and MCAP that is becoming absolutely ridiculous.