Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 09-22-2014, 10:05 AM   #21
darklord700
First Line Centre
 
darklord700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Exp:
Default

Can I first get a SK number and then switch my AB landline to this plan?
darklord700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 06:42 PM   #22
fleuryisgod
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

Just did this switch myself today following the instructions in the first post. Went to Best Buy and just asked for a Saskatchewan number because I liked their plans better. The guy just issues me the number with no hassles regarding having an Alberta address and gave me the Sask plan. Porting over my Alberta number was also very easy. No issues at all and now I'm paying $49.95 per month. I only had a couple months left on my Telus contract so buying it out is no big deal, will make up the difference pretty quickly.

If anyone is at the end of a contract with a phone that is still good I would highly recommend this.
fleuryisgod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 01:52 PM   #23
me_dennis
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Exp:
Default

I dont know too much about koodo, but is this $55 koodo part of a contract, or is it month to month, cancel at any time?
me_dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 03:25 PM   #24
Wormius
Franchise Player
 
Wormius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere down the crazy river.
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fleuryisgod View Post
Just did this switch myself today following the instructions in the first post. Went to Best Buy and just asked for a Saskatchewan number because I liked their plans better. The guy just issues me the number with no hassles regarding having an Alberta address and gave me the Sask plan. Porting over my Alberta number was also very easy. No issues at all and now I'm paying $49.95 per month. I only had a couple months left on my Telus contract so buying it out is no big deal, will make up the difference pretty quickly.

If anyone is at the end of a contract with a phone that is still good I would highly recommend this.
So you were just totally upfront with the Best Buy guy about why you were doing it? No need for the school/work story?
Wormius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 04:59 PM   #25
fleuryisgod
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wormius View Post
So you were just totally upfront with the Best Buy guy about why you were doing it? No need for the school/work story?

No made up story at all. Just asked for a Sask number so I can access their rates. Also no contract with them, just 30 days notice to cancel which is very nice.

I did try at a Koodo kiosk first and was told they can only access Alberta rates even if they gave me a Sask number, they are controlled by corporate head office where as Best Buy has more flexibility.
fleuryisgod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:30 PM   #26
Wormius
Franchise Player
 
Wormius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere down the crazy river.
Exp:
Default

Hmm. Interesting. I looked at some other providers' plans too, and Virgin also has the same deal for $55 for the 5GB plan in Sask. Wonder if I can convince my current provider to give me this rate.. I am paying $54 for 2Gb, the extra 3 would be a nice buffer for streaming audio during my commutes and what not.

Anybody try this with other cell providers?
Wormius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 12:07 AM   #27
TorqueDog
First Line Centre
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Just be careful with this. The girlfriend moved from Saskatchewan about a year ago and was on SaskTel. Last month, she got a $600 bill because SaskTel finally wised up that she was outside of Saskatchewan and invoked a 'gotcha' in the contract that disabled her unlimited calling.

Don't know if there's the same clause in the Koodo agreement, but read the fine print and make sure you don't get screwed.
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 07:15 PM   #28
Righteous1
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wormius View Post
Hmm. Interesting. I looked at some other providers' plans too, and Virgin also has the same deal for $55 for the 5GB plan in Sask. Wonder if I can convince my current provider to give me this rate.. I am paying $54 for 2Gb, the extra 3 would be a nice buffer for streaming audio during my commutes and what not.

Anybody try this with other cell providers?
I went over my 2gb a couple times and a friend introduced me to shaw go wifi. Haven't been over since, though the extra 3gb would still be nice.
Righteous1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 08:15 AM   #29
EldrickOnIce
Franchise Player
 
EldrickOnIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Chicago
Exp:
Default

This plan still is available?
It does not show up on Koodo website when entering Saskatchewan.
I'm assuming one has to ask for it?
EldrickOnIce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2014, 01:16 PM   #30
fleuryisgod
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EldrickOnIce View Post
This plan still is available?
It does not show up on Koodo website when entering Saskatchewan.
I'm assuming one has to ask for it?
I asked for it at Best Buy and got it on Monday. Also doubled checked the contract and there is nothing that will let them charge me extra even though I don't live in Saskatchewan.
fleuryisgod is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fleuryisgod For This Useful Post:
Old 10-23-2014, 11:57 PM   #31
accord1999
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EldrickOnIce View Post
This plan still is available?
It does not show up on Koodo website when entering Saskatchewan.
I'm assuming one has to ask for it?
Try with a private browsing session.
accord1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to accord1999 For This Useful Post:
Old 10-25-2014, 03:28 PM   #32
Antithesis
Disenfranchised
 
Antithesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Exp:
Default

Forgive the potentially stupid question, but is there any way to get this plan as an existing Koodo subscriber?
Antithesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 07:56 PM   #33
Robotic
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Robotic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AI
Exp:
Default

So when you port your number over to your 403 number, do you just call your current carrier and cancel your plan? And you still keep the 403 number, but now with Koodo?
Robotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 08:26 PM   #34
TSXCman
First Line Centre
 
TSXCman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Exp:
Default

I called my own provider and said I need to be ready to port my number, they said no problem.

Got set up with Koodo, then online I ported my old number, and Koodo took care of the rest. IN FACT, no one has charged me for breaking my old contract early!
TSXCman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TSXCman For This Useful Post:
Old 11-04-2014, 08:34 PM   #35
accord1999
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotic View Post
So when you port your number over to your 403 number, do you just call your current carrier and cancel your plan? And you still keep the 403 number, but now with Koodo?
The act of porting is enough to cancel the existing plan you have. You don't have to contact your existing provider at all. When I did it from Telus to Koodo, it took a minute or so for the port to go through and any call to my number went to the phone with the Koodo SIM.

Last edited by accord1999; 11-04-2014 at 08:39 PM.
accord1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to accord1999 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-06-2014, 04:15 AM   #36
jg13
First Line Centre
 
jg13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Glad to see this is still working for people
jg13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 01:07 PM   #37
Robotic
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Robotic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: AI
Exp:
Default

Excuse me for my lack of knowledge. But would there be long distance charges applied to people calling me? As my number would still be the same 403 number, but its linked to the Sask number. So would anyone be stuck with a penalty?
Robotic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 01:26 PM   #38
accord1999
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotic View Post
Excuse me for my lack of knowledge. But would there be long distance charges applied to people calling me? As my number would still be the same 403 number, but its linked to the Sask number. So would anyone be stuck with a penalty?
Once you port, the original Sask number is no longer valid. It will be essentially overwritten by the AB phone number for all usage in your account (including taxes). Your 403 phone number will always act like a 403 area code phone.
accord1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to accord1999 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-10-2014, 06:07 AM   #39
taffeyb
Crash and Bang Winger
 
taffeyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by accord1999 View Post
The act of porting is enough to cancel the existing plan you have. You don't have to contact your existing provider at all. When I did it from Telus to Koodo, it took a minute or so for the port to go through and any call to my number went to the phone with the Koodo SIM.
I would hope so as Telus owns Koodo.

I ported from Fido (Rogers) to Koodo and it was only about 5 minutes.
taffeyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 11:15 AM   #40
me_dennis
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Exp:
Default

has anyone tried to do this recently?
me_dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:02 PM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016