Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 10-09-2020, 09:24 AM   #1
Flamenspiel
First Line Centre
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default Cable and Electrical

Hi, I could not find a thread for this. I was going to have a 60 foot HDMI cable installed and have found out that longer cables do not really work for 4K UHD output. I previously used a 45 for 1080P and it works well but it seems that the data requirement for 4K is much higher.

Any suggestions, right now I am looking at redesigning the room to accommodate the short length limitation. I want to get it right once we have everything in the walls.
Flamenspiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 10:12 AM   #2
Nufy
#1 Goaltender
 
Nufy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Exp:
Default

Doesn't cat6 support HDMI ?
__________________
Nufy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 11:08 AM   #3
Flamenspiel
First Line Centre
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

I saw something about that, not clear on it. I will mention it to the builder.
Flamenspiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 03:34 PM   #4
darockwilder
Scoring Winger
 
darockwilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Exp:
Default

You could get a directional HDMI cable, or use extenders with category cable. The directional cable is probably a cheaper solution, but the Cat cable is smaller. Sometimes the directional cables have a "signal booster" inline with the cable that can make it problematic to pull into place.
__________________
Sent from an adult man under a dumpster
darockwilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 04:17 PM   #5
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Try a fibre optic-based HDMI 2.0 cable: https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=13700

Or if you are looking at HDMI 2.1 (supports up to 8K), this: https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=38625
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.

Last edited by TorqueDog; 10-09-2020 at 04:20 PM.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 11:34 PM   #6
You Need a Thneed
Voted for Kodos
 
You Need a Thneed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Exp:
Default

Monoprice has some fairly cheap HDMI over Cat6 adapters.

I used a set when I ran HDMI from the back of my receiver to my TV.

https://www.monoprice.com/category/a...bution/hdbaset
__________________
My LinkedIn Profile.
You Need a Thneed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2020, 01:43 PM   #7
Flamenspiel
First Line Centre
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Exp:
Default

Thanks guys! I decided to switch the whole room so that’s it’s only a 10 foot run now. It works out for some other reasons as well.
Flamenspiel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Flamenspiel For This Useful Post:
Old 10-10-2020, 03:33 PM   #8
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Monoprice has some fairly cheap HDMI over Cat6 adapters.

I used a set when I ran HDMI from the back of my receiver to my TV.

https://www.monoprice.com/category/a...bution/hdbaset
Only catch with those is they max out at the HDMI 2.0 spec, so futureproofing for 8K / 4K @ 120Hz etc. won't work with them.
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TorqueDog For This Useful Post:
Old 10-13-2020, 08:38 AM   #9
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

You can definitely achieve 4K over 30 ft with HDMI, but you need buy a Redmere cable with the correct boosting. Now whether or not you can find an in-wall rated Redmere cable is another story...
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 09:06 AM   #10
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcNeT View Post
You can definitely achieve 4K over 30 ft with HDMI, but you need buy a Redmere cable with the correct boosting. Now whether or not you can find an in-wall rated Redmere cable is another story...
I got the 15 foot version of this:

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B008D5EU6E/...0_TE_dp_2?th=1

It's redmere, rated CL2 for in wall.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 09:56 AM   #11
cupofjoe
Crash and Bang Winger
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Exp:
Default

If possible, conduit is your friend.
cupofjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2020, 10:43 AM   #12
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
I got the 15 foot version of this:

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B008D5EU6E/...0_TE_dp_2?th=1

It's redmere, rated CL2 for in wall.
Sorry should have specified; in-wall rated 4k redmere @ 60hz/HDR. I personally wouldn't get a 4K cable capped at 24hz and without HDR support.

Redmere also limits your available subsampling/bit depth. I have one running that only allows 8-bit with a 4:2:0, but it's a 2015 monoprice model. It's possible the newer ones allow 12-bit @ 4:4:4.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.

Last edited by PsYcNeT; 10-13-2020 at 10:46 AM.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PsYcNeT For This Useful Post:
Old 10-13-2020, 11:09 AM   #13
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Right, ya forgot about this. I ran this one just for my Switch so wasn't to concerned about HDR or 4K.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 03:25 PM   #14
PaperBagger'14
First Line Centre
 
PaperBagger'14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cowtown
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupofjoe View Post
If possible, conduit is your friend.
100% this. There will come a day where HDMI will be obsolete and you'll instead be running new cabling. Conduit is the best way to go
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilboimcdavid View Post
Eakins wasn't a bad coach, the team just had 2 bad years, they should've been more patient.
PaperBagger'14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 AM.

Calgary Flames
2019-20




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016