Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 08-31-2009, 10:11 AM   #1
Doctordestiny
Crash and Bang Winger

Exp:
Default Laying sod in the fall

To anyone who has done this, how late in the fall can you put down sod and have it take root for winter? How late is too late?
Doctordestiny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:13 AM   #2
Cactus Jack
First Line Centre

Exp:

You know what they say, if there is grass on the field, play ball.
Cactus Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:14 AM   #3
DOK
Crash and Bang Winger

Exp:

I'm not a professional AT ALL, but you can go quite late into the fall as I understand. My old house was done late late fall, in October. They told me that the winter weather will be best for it to grow in spring. It will freeze and keep everything safe for the spring. I was told that's the best time to do it.
DOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:29 AM   #4
Shazam
Franchise Player

Exp:

What DOK said.
Shazam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 10:45 AM   #5
Ford Prefect
Has Towel, Will Travel

Exp:

The only danger with laying sod in the fall as far as I know is if it's a dry, warm fall. If so, keep it watered until freeze up.
Old 08-31-2009, 02:48 PM   #6
Rerun
Often Thinks About Pickles

Exp:

Can you buy just a few feet of sod... say like 6 ft?

I have a few bad spots in my lawn that I would like to repair, but it doesn't require a lot of sod.
Rerun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 02:52 PM   #7
Madman
Franchise Player

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rerun View Post
Can you buy just a few feet of sod... say like 6 ft?

I have a few bad spots in my lawn that I would like to repair, but it doesn't require a lot of sod.
Yes, one roll is 2'x5'.
Madman is offline   Reply With Quote