Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 02-18-2021, 08:56 PM   #1
Hack&Lube
Atomic Nerd

Exp:
Default Calgary Openings, Closings, and Developments

Since the latest recession began half a decade ago, and with the add-on effect of Covid-19, I've seen a lot of change in this city. Many mainstays of the city that have been with us for decades are disappearing and at the same time, there are a lot of developments happening such as the new Event Centre.

I've been coming to this forum since the early 2000s and I thought that it would be the perfect place to have a thread dedicated to tracking changes to retail, public venues, demolitions, new construction, etc.
Hack&Lube is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hack&Lube For This Useful Post:
Old 02-18-2021, 08:57 PM   #2
Hack&Lube
Atomic Nerd

Exp:

Calgary Downtown / Eau Claire YMCA to close permanently

https://calgaryherald.com/news/local...manently-close

The downtown branch opened Oct. 17, 1988, and has contributed to the vibrancy of Calgary’s core in the 30-plus years
(...)

On Thursday, YMCA Calgary announced the downtown location will not reopen following the easing of COVID-19 restrictions, citing financial and economic pressures.

I just saw this news article. I remember visiting as a child but I don't think I've been inside the Eau Claire YMCA for over two decades. There's a lot of great late 80s architecture in this building. Will it sit empty? Would another gym/fitness company take over? When I lived in the area, I remember many seniors were reliant on this pool for their daily exercise.

Last edited by Hack&Lube; 02-18-2021 at 09:03 PM.
Hack&Lube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 09:46 PM   #3
greyshep
#1 Goaltender

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hack&Lube View Post

The downtown branch opened Oct. 17, 1988, and has contributed to the vibrancy of Calgary’s core in the 30-plus years
(...)