Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 06-17-2011, 10:52 AM   #1
KTrain
ALL ABOARD!

Exp:
Default Cycling Thread

I thought I'd start a thread for people interested in cycling. I'm by no means an expert but would love to see what other people are riding and any tips they might have for novice riders like myself.

This is my road bike. It's pretty low-end as I bought it after having not rode a bike in nearly a decade and just wanted to get back into it. It's still great for me as I'm still pretty green. It's a 2009 Trek 1.5

I picked this up this year so I can drag the kids around in a trailer and still get a bit of training in. I also like the cross tires for earlier season riding without feeling like I'm going to bail on the gravel all over the city. A 2010 Norco CCX2.

Old 06-17-2011, 11:21 AM   #2
Mean Mr. Mustard
Franchise Player

Exp:

1. Wear a helmet
2. Clipless pedals
3. Bail onto grass not asphalt
4. If you are using it as a commuter get a bike rack and panniers
5. Learn your damn hand signals
6. Get a good jacket that is reflective and water resistant
7. If you are dragging around your kids - have your kids wear a helmet, I always shake my head when I see the adult with a helmet and the kid with nothing at all.
8. Enjoy your bike.
9. Get a bike maintenance kit and know how to use it if you need to do so (how to change a flat for example or in case your chain breaks).
10. Bike gloves - good investment
The Following User Says Thank You to Mean Mr. Mustard For This Useful Post:
Old 06-17-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
jonesy
First Line Centre

Exp:

11. Don't smell like sour vinegar in morning meetings -Captain Crunch
Old 06-17-2011, 12:08 PM   #4
KTrain
ALL ABOARD!

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mean Mr. Mustard View Post
1. Wear a helmet
2. Clipless pedals
3. Bail onto grass not asphalt
4. If you are using it as a commuter get a bike rack and panniers
5. Learn your damn hand signals