Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 03-20-2015, 05:23 PM   #21
AcGold
Self-Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Exp:
Default

That's rather diabolical.
AcGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 05:31 PM   #22
REDVAN
Franchise Player
 
REDVAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Question- is there a sandbox mode or a money cheat?
__________________
REDVAN!
REDVAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 05:34 PM   #23
BlackArcher101
Such a pretty girl!
 
BlackArcher101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by REDVAN View Post
Question- is there a sandbox mode or a money cheat?
Yup, there's a free money cheat built into the game. Can enable it from the MOD menu I believe.
__________________

BlackArcher101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:00 PM   #24
AcGold
Self-Suspension
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Exp:
Default

The money cheat ruins the game. The areas level up and the city grows naturally. If you cheat the progression disappears, the real enjoyment comes from creating something unique using reason and foresight.
AcGold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:03 PM   #25
ricosuave
Threadkiller
 
ricosuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 51.0544 N, 114.0669 W
Exp:
Default

Thanks for all the info - just bought it, cant wait to get into 'er
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire View Post
Watch the "Alberta Ram Dealers Post-Game Show" hosted by Brendan Parker on Youtube. It's usually quite good.
ricosuave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 01:22 PM   #26
topfiverecords
Franchise Player
 
topfiverecords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ferlandia
Exp:
Default

Be careful where you put your landfills as you can't demo it.
topfiverecords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 01:31 PM   #27
Traditional_Ale
Franchise Player
 
Traditional_Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: CGY
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by topfiverecords View Post
Be careful where you put your landfills as you can't demo it.
Next to the hospital I hear is an good strategy.
__________________

So far, this is the oldest I've been.
Traditional_Ale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 02:10 PM   #28
cDnStealth
First Line Centre
 
cDnStealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by topfiverecords View Post
Be careful where you put your landfills as you can't demo it.
Yes you can. Once you build an incinerator you need to empty your landfill and then when it's empty you can demolish (or move) it.
cDnStealth is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cDnStealth For This Useful Post:
Old 03-21-2015, 03:14 PM   #29
underGRADFlame
Lives In Fear Of Labelling
 
underGRADFlame's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Exp:
Default

I really want to buy this but I'm not sure if my MacBook Pro 13"(2014) will run it. And in my minimal searches i can't get an answer.
underGRADFlame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 04:50 PM   #30
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cDnStealth View Post
Yes you can. Once you build an incinerator you need to empty your landfill and then when it's empty you can demolish (or move) it.
Alternatively (early game) you can just build a landfill further towards your (assumedly) far fringe area and unload it into that.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 06:11 PM   #31
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

is anyone else having a lot of blue screens of death from this game?

i have a fairly new computer ... but had issues with another game on steam where certain mods would blue screen it.

how can i diagnose my comp to see if theres issues under the hood
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 07:16 PM   #32
psicodude
First Line Centre
 
psicodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by underGRADFlame View Post
I really want to buy this but I'm not sure if my MacBook Pro 13"(2014) will run it. And in my minimal searches i can't get an answer.
http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/cyri find cities:skylines in the pull-down.
psicodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 07:17 PM   #33
psicodude
First Line Centre
 
psicodude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Resurrection View Post
is anyone else having a lot of blue screens of death from this game?

i have a fairly new computer ... but had issues with another game on steam where certain mods would blue screen it.

how can i diagnose my comp to see if theres issues under the hood
Blue screens are typically caused by a hardware or driver fault. Try going into event viewer and locating the error code from the blue screen. Then, Google it.
psicodude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 09:58 AM   #34
Antithesis
Disenfranchised
 
Antithesis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Exp:
Default

My 2011 MacBook won't play this
Antithesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:12 AM   #35
ricosuave
Threadkiller
 
ricosuave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 51.0544 N, 114.0669 W
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psicodude View Post
Blue screens are typically caused by a hardware or driver fault. Try going into event viewer and locating the error code from the blue screen. Then, Google it.
Or use this program to decipher it...

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fire View Post
Watch the "Alberta Ram Dealers Post-Game Show" hosted by Brendan Parker on Youtube. It's usually quite good.
ricosuave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ricosuave For This Useful Post:
Old 03-22-2015, 11:40 AM   #36
Itse
Franchise Player
 
Itse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Exp:
Default

I've played this for a couple of days now, so time for some comments:

- Just a pleasure to play. It's very easy to just take your own pace and go the way you want to go. I get why some might feel the game is "too easy", but for me it's important that I don't have to try and optimize every little thing. This gives me a lot of freedom to make the city the way I want it, as long I stick within some rational limits. The money flow feels very good for me, I can't just do what ever the heck I want, but when I really need or want something I can always find a way to make it happen.

- I hope they improve the tools to edit public transit lines, as they feel quite clunky to me. (This was a bit of a surprise given the teams previous games were traffic simulators.)

- The graphics are good enough, but it's easy to see that the dev team isn't that big from the lack variety. Not that I'm complaining really, I'm sure modders will fix this pretty soon. (I already subscribed to a whole bunch of new buildings on Steam Workshop.)

- I realized rather quickly that it's not worth it to worry over every complaint. A city is never going to be perfect, there's always going to be crime somewhere and a burned house somewhere, supply and demand of workers and jobs is rarely going to be perfect etc. It just makes the city feel real and alive. In fact one of my favourite things in the city is my beachside "slum", where people keep getting sick due to water pollution since I used to dump sewage close by.
Itse is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 12:19 PM   #37
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricosuave View Post
Or use this program to decipher it...

http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html
At this post since I did a full reinstall of Windows on a formatted drive... Can arrow it down to a faulty piece of hardware. Thankfully I still have 11 months left on warranty with my system build from memory express. Taking it in later today.
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 12:34 PM   #38
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Interested in seeing what other people's cities look like.

I just hit 100k, here's a couple shots (click for big):







__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to PsYcNeT For This Useful Post:
Old 03-22-2015, 03:01 PM   #39
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

This games just plain fun to play.

Amazing how far off the mark SC 5 was and how these folks nailed it.

Nice city btw dude
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 05:38 PM   #40
Bill Bumface
My face is a bum!
 
Bill Bumface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Exp:
Default

Is there a way to gracefully transition from a two way road to two one way roads? It always makes intersections when I divide the roads to build a split diamond.
Bill Bumface is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016