Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Food and Entertainment
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-23-2013, 11:16 PM   #1
Minnie
Franchise Player

Exp:
Default Ok, men - school me on ribs

Tomorrow is my husband's birthday, and I have roughly 4 pounds of ribs that I want to do. Right now, they're sitting wrapped up tightly, after I slathered them in a rub that he picked up in Vegas (Magic Dust?). I tried that dust stuff on a pork roast that I did in the slow cooker last week (pulled pork), and it was amazing.

Anyway, I typically do ribs in a slow cooker but I'm somewhat loathe to do them that way this time. I've never done them on a BBQ before and I don't know that I have enough time or patience to try them that way for the first time tomorrow. I have several appointments so I can't stand around and watch the grill.

I could cook them low and slow in the oven, yes? I have done a little reading around the 'net and there's quite a variance. Some say wrap them in foil, others don't. Some say do at 350* for about 15-30 minutes then turn down to 200* and cook for at least 5-6 hours. Does that sound about right? We will eat around 6, and I need to be able to leave the house for about an hour, just before 2, to take the kid to the doctor and run pick up some BBQ sauce.

Any advice? I don't want to ruin these.
Minnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 11:34 PM   #2
Dion
Not a casual user

Exp:

I have nothing to add other than the wish that whatever you do I hope it is a huge success and you get lucky later that night.
Old 10-23-2013, 11:58 PM   #3
Red Slinger
First Line Centre

Exp:

As it so happens I just picked up some ribs the other night and plan on feasting this very evening. Here's my ten step process:

1- Soak the ribs overnight in a brine (salt & water) solution