Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Food and Entertainment
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-19-2013, 10:47 AM   #1
Nyah
First Line Centre

Exp:
Default Cooking a Roast

I'm supposed to cook a roast for a dinner tomorrow but I've never done it before and I don't really know what I'm doing or what I'm looking for. I have the option of using either the oven or a slow cooker. Can anyone recommend a type of roast (beef, pork, size, cut, etc)? There will be six of us and I'd like to make a gravy too.

So what are your roast recipes?
Nyah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 10:53 AM   #2
transplant99
Fearmongerer

Location: Wondering when # became hashtag and not a number sign.
Exp:

This one is easy peasy and quite tasty....just follow the directions and you cant miss.

http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/roast_beef/
Old 10-19-2013, 11:05 AM   #3
_Q_
#1 Goaltender

Exp:

Prime rib, 3 bones. Let it sit outside for about 2 hours so the meat comes to room temperature. Rub it with grainy mustard, thyme, salt and pepper. Place it in a roasting pan, bone side down. Heat your oven to 500 degrees and put the roast in there for 15 minutes to sear the meat. Reduce heat to 325 and cook the rest of the way. Get a meat thermometer and take meat out 5 degrees before your desired doneness. It'll cook the rest of the way when you let it rest for 20 minutes. It should take less than 3 hours to cook to medium rare. Don't make a gravy, make an au jus. Take the roasting pan, remove most of the grease and deglaze with beef stock and red wine over medium heat on the stove top. Reduce to about half the liquid.

Enjoy
_Q_ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to _Q_ For This Useful Post:
Old 10-19-2013, 11:47 AM   #4
TurnedTheCorner
Lifetime Suspension

Exp: