Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 11-11-2018, 03:38 PM   #861
fundmark19
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: May 2009
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcNeT View Post
Are you sure that's a card limitation? Unless you are using hardware rendering/decoding specifically, usually it's a CPU limitation.

Have you tried disabling/enabling Hardware Acceleration in Chrome's settings?
No I have not. All I noticed was in task manager it said 100% gpu useage and thatís when things started lagging
fundmark19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 01:37 PM   #862
fundmark19
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: May 2009
Exp:
Default

I disabled hardware acceleration and it made things even worse. I am assuming because my computer is old the cpu canít keep up. Then when I enable the video card gpu canít keep up.
fundmark19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 07:05 AM   #863
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

That seems possible.

I've done some cursory hunting around because Chrome is very RAM heavy so I was trying to find out if there's an in-built limitation on streams? Can't seem to find one.

Did a couple tests to see if this can be done and how much of an impact it has on a 6700k w/ 2080 RTX.

Running 6 windows of Chrome with live video (mostly Shaw Freerange):
  • RAM Usage: Chrome hit 2.8 GB alone (total 7.5 GB) / 16 GB
  • Ethernet: Hits on avg about 17 Mbps
  • GPU: Barely getting hit, 36c, 41% fan speed (1500 RPM), 1500 MB VRAM usage, 11% GPU load, 15.5% TDP
  • CPU: ~50% load, ~50c
  • Feel: Chrome was a bit laggier overall but the PC functioned as expected
So I can't say how "low" you could potentially go, but my conclusions are:
  • RAM: Pretty important, need at least 8 GB I'd say (unless your entire system is stripped down of other casual use apps)
  • Ethernet: Basic "high-speed" should be acceptable
  • GPU: I don't think this is used very much. 11% load (albeit on a high end modern card) is pretty tiny. Basically something even 30% as fast should be acceptable (so like, a used 970 or something?)
  • CPU: Definitely where most of the processing was being handled. A 3 gens back i7 with hyperthreading (which Chrome does use) was being pushed to ~50%. With a 4/4 core usage, you would need an i5 that's at minimum 50% as fast (and would likely chop if it's running flat out the whole time). If you're getting 8xxx or 9xxx series units, I would guess a 6 natural core i5-8400 or equivalent would be more than sufficient.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 11:00 AM   #864
photon
The new goggles also do nothing.
 
photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I was hoping 1080ti prices would come down, even in used, but I'm still seeing $800+ on Kijiji for used ones, and haven't seen any deals online they're still in the $950+ range.

Don't really want to get a 2070 and the 2080 seems like it's too high a price for what you get though.

I wonder if there'll be anything decent for Black Friday or boxing day deals?
__________________
Uncertainty is an uncomfortable position.
But certainty is an absurd one.
photon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 11:53 AM   #865
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

So I've experienced nothing but misery just trying to get a damn USB headset to work on my PC. Uninstall/reinstall dance, drivers from the headset manufacturer, Googling troubleshooting tips for it... nothing's working.

My mic will work, but the sound is extremely muted to the point that cranking up all audio and volume settings makes things barely hearable over the headset.

Any hail marys as to what else I can try?
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 12:01 PM   #866
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Have you tried it on another computer? Maybe it's broken.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 01:18 PM   #867
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

It's brand new and randomly works for periods until it doesn't. It's definitely not an issue with the hardware.

Anyway, it's randomly working again after hours of troubleshooting. I'll just never shut off my PC or unplug my headset ever again.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 02:50 PM   #868
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Ok, well brand new doesn't necessarily mean it works properly. I'd try it elsewhere if I could to see if it is a hardware issue. Have you tried it in other USB ports on the same computer?
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 11-13-2018, 03:09 PM   #869
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

What brand of headset is it?
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 03:55 PM   #870
calumniate
Franchise Player
 
calumniate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: A small painted room
Exp:
Default

Yeah only thing I can think of is maybe some conflicts between 2.0 USB plugs and 3.0, etc
calumniate is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to calumniate For This Useful Post:
Old 11-14-2018, 11:52 AM   #871
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

It's a Corsair headset. I haven't tried it in other plugs, there's really only two accessible USB connections near the front panel and I use the 3.0 one for my WiFi adapter. I'll try that out next time if I run into issues. Thanks for the suggestion!
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:08 PM   #872
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

I'd definitely try a rear connection. Front panel USB ports are notorious for being glitchy. Because they run through wires to the motherboard, there is a chance of interference, where the rear ones are soldered directly on the board. You can buy cheap USB extension cables if needed.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 11-18-2018, 12:33 PM   #873
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

Update: The sound issue persisted on two rear USB ports. I tried installing a newer audio driver for Realtek HDAudio - the problem still persists.

I get audio over my headset, it's just barely audible.

Update 2: So apparently Realtek was more of a Windows 7 legacy driver. I've uninstalled and deleted it completely and now newer MS drivers are my defaults. I'll try the headset on the regular drivers first, and if it doesn't work with them I'll then add the Corsair driver to see if it solves the issue.

Last edited by Finger Cookin; 11-18-2018 at 06:02 PM.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 08:29 AM   #874
Coys1882
First Line Centre
 
Coys1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Exp:
Default

What do you guys think of this black friday sale bundle?

https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/BDL_MM00001290
Coys1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Coys1882 For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2018, 09:38 AM   #875
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coys1882 View Post
What do you guys think of this black friday sale bundle?

https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/BDL_MM00001290
It's pretty solid if you're looking to upgrade to the last CPU gen. Not too huge of savings considering the 9xxx series is out however.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 09:40 AM   #876
Coys1882
First Line Centre
 
Coys1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcNeT View Post
It's pretty solid if you're looking to upgrade to the last CPU gen. Not too huge of savings considering the 9xxx series is out however.
Thanks! Maybe I'll keep rolling the 2500k for a bit then.
Coys1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 09:45 AM   #877
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coys1882 View Post
Thanks! Maybe I'll keep rolling the 2500k for a bit then.
Well honestly, that changes things a bit.

A 2500k -> 8600k is a pretty massive difference. That's more than an adequate distance between CPU gens to merit an upgrade.

More than anything I'm just lamenting that Intel's pricing dips by like 50$ max when each new gen comes out, and less about the cost of the deal itself.

I would strongly consider it if I were you, especially with a modern board being able to take advantage of things like DDR4 and M.2 drives.

https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/BDL_MM00001296

Is a reasonable option too (but it's XFire only, not SLI/Xfire, if you were planning on SLI)
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.

Last edited by PsYcNeT; 11-23-2018 at 09:48 AM.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PsYcNeT For This Useful Post:
Old 11-23-2018, 10:45 AM   #878
Coys1882
First Line Centre
 
Coys1882's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsYcNeT View Post
Is a reasonable option too (but it's XFire only, not SLI/Xfire, if you were planning on SLI)
I have no intention of SLI - thanks for the input!!

I currently have a 1070 which I think is more than adequate.
Coys1882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 11:10 AM   #879
PsYcNeT
Franchise Player
 
PsYcNeT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Marseilles Of The Prairies
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coys1882 View Post
I have no intention of SLI - thanks for the input!!

I currently have a 1070 which I think is more than adequate.
Yeah a single Nvidia card will work fine, but you have to do some goofy crap to SLI on an XFire-specific board.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMastodonFarm View Post
Settle down there, Temple Grandin.
PsYcNeT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 01:33 PM   #880
Finger Cookin
Franchise Player
 
Finger Cookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Exp:
Default

Finally pulled the trigger on my new build via Memory Express today:



The current PC is turning six this January, and has had the SSD and mobo replaced. It's showing its age. It will be nice to have something that feels and acts new for a couple of years.
Finger Cookin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Finger Cookin For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016