Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 01-12-2021, 01:00 PM   #1141
Nufy
#1 Goaltender
 
Nufy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Exp:
Default

I got a quicker response from Shaw on Twitter than I did using the chat.
__________________
Nufy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2021, 01:05 PM   #1142
tvp2003
Franchise Player
 
tvp2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Incogneto View Post
In a related note, anyone have experience with TekSavvy or Lightspeed?
I've been with TekSavvy for just over a year. Just internet. Internet service is good enough (150 plan), and the changeover was relatively easy. On the downside, their price has gone up significantly over the past year (due to the CRTC ruling apparently), and I was going to switch to Lightspeed which is cheaper but I read some reviews that the changeover can take awhile and requires them to schedule a Shaw tech to come over. Still might change in a month or two, but didn't want to when the kids were doing online school (I bought a router through TekSavvy as well so I've got that covered as well).

EDIT: one time I did have a tech issue (router shut down due to a water leak) and was able to connect immediately with a support rep. That was unexpected. Eventually the problem resolved itself (once the router dried out), but not having to wait on hold was a nice surprise.

Last edited by tvp2003; 01-12-2021 at 01:07 PM.
tvp2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2021, 01:57 PM   #1143
DoubleF
#1 Goaltender
 
DoubleF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Just got bluecurve TV, but our upstairs TV location just has coax outlet, and the wifi isnít strong enough to use only that.

Currently I have an Ethernet cable running across the floor, but I canít leave that long term. Is there a solution to use the coax to get the internet to the TV, or do I have to try to get Ethernet to the back of the box?
Why not use a power line adapter or mesh system for ethernet/wifi?
DoubleF is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DoubleF For This Useful Post:
Old 01-12-2021, 04:27 PM   #1144
Hemi-Cuda
wins 10 internets
 
Hemi-Cuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: slightly to the left
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Just got bluecurve TV, but our upstairs TV location just has coax outlet, and the wifi isnít strong enough to use only that.

Currently I have an Ethernet cable running across the floor, but I canít leave that long term. Is there a solution to use the coax to get the internet to the TV, or do I have to try to get Ethernet to the back of the box?
https://www.actiontec.com/moca/

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleF View Post
Why not use a power line adapter or mesh system for ethernet/wifi?
Ethernet over power should only be used as a last resort, signal quality will be terrible compared to any other option
Hemi-Cuda is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hemi-Cuda For This Useful Post:
Old 01-12-2021, 04:31 PM   #1145
Jimmy Stang
Franchise Player
 
Jimmy Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Just got bluecurve TV, but our upstairs TV location just has coax outlet, and the wifi isnít strong enough to use only that.

Currently I have an Ethernet cable running across the floor, but I canít leave that long term. Is there a solution to use the coax to get the internet to the TV, or do I have to try to get Ethernet to the back of the box?
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleF View Post
Why not use a power line adapter or mesh system for ethernet/wifi?
There is actually a protocol called MoCA, which uses coaxial cable for networking. I have never tried it myself, but it might be worth looking into.

Interestingly, while bridging my new Blue Curve router recently, I saw the option for MoCA in the web interface. I didn't dig any deeper, but Shaw's router may actually support that.

And also, as someone else suggested, you can actually connect the Xi6 boxes to your own network. So if you that's what you need to do, you can bridge Shaw's modem/router and just connect the TV boxes to your own network.
Jimmy Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jimmy Stang For This Useful Post:
Old 01-12-2021, 08:16 PM   #1146
You Need a Thneed
Voted for Kodos
 
You Need a Thneed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hemi-Cuda View Post
https://www.actiontec.com/moca/



Ethernet over power should only be used as a last resort, signal quality will be terrible compared to any other option
Where can I buy such products?
__________________
My LinkedIn Profile.
You Need a Thneed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 12:50 AM   #1147
DoubleF
#1 Goaltender
 
DoubleF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by You Need a Thneed View Post
Where can I buy such products?
MOCA is a little harder to come by and it's slightly more expensive to acquire/slightly trickier to install. However, it will have better stability and reliability than power line. I don't have experience with MOCA, but I saw some of the equipment on Amazon for around $100-200 for gigabit.

Power line I see they are around $100 for gigabit as well, but you also can buy 500 mbps for like $55 so it's quite a bit cheaper. You may have to power cycle them every once in a while. After you pair them, you can basically move them all over the place.

However, since you're getting close to the $100 price point, I'd personally lean more towards spending $150-250 and go with a mesh system with 3 nodes. You'd improve wifi in your entire home more than for your purposes of bluecurve tv and this method is more future proof than MOCA or powerline. Any electronics store will have. Amazon and Bestbuy are good bets.

Last edited by DoubleF; 01-13-2021 at 12:52 AM.
DoubleF is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DoubleF For This Useful Post:
Old 01-13-2021, 07:25 AM   #1148
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Doesn't all the Shaw stuff already use MOCA? I'm not sure adding another MOCA system would even work on the same lines.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 09:06 PM   #1149
You Need a Thneed
Voted for Kodos
 
You Need a Thneed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleF View Post
MOCA is a little harder to come by and it's slightly more expensive to acquire/slightly trickier to install. However, it will have better stability and reliability than power line. I don't have experience with MOCA, but I saw some of the equipment on Amazon for around $100-200 for gigabit.

Power line I see they are around $100 for gigabit as well, but you also can buy 500 mbps for like $55 so it's quite a bit cheaper. You may have to power cycle them every once in a while. After you pair them, you can basically move them all over the place.

However, since you're getting close to the $100 price point, I'd personally lean more towards spending $150-250 and go with a mesh system with 3 nodes. You'd improve wifi in your entire home more than for your purposes of bluecurve tv and this method is more future proof than MOCA or powerline. Any electronics store will have. Amazon and Bestbuy are good bets.
Iíve been thinking about upgrading my wifi anyway, since I only have wifi-n other than the shaw modem. And I have both down in my furnace room out of the way.
__________________
My LinkedIn Profile.
You Need a Thneed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 11:21 AM   #1150
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

So I just got my Shaw sim and activated it. I can receive calls and send texts, but I can't receive texts. Do these take a little while to start working? Is there something I should try to get texts to show up, or go straight to support? Is there any reason my phone would be the problem? It worked fine with 7/11.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 01:16 PM   #1151
Ashartus
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
So I just got my Shaw sim and activated it. I can receive calls and send texts, but I can't receive texts. Do these take a little while to start working? Is there something I should try to get texts to show up, or go straight to support? Is there any reason my phone would be the problem? It worked fine with 7/11.

Could be a problem with the app, or which app is set as default? Our Shaw phones were able to send and receive texts right away.
Ashartus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 01:21 PM   #1152
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

I just got flooded with my test messages...I can send a reply almost instantly, but it isn't receiving, seems to be a delay. I'll see how long before I get the next ones...
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 06:14 PM   #1153
Ironhorse
Franchise Player
 
Ironhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Has anyone else ported their family mobile plan over to to Shaw Mobile yet? If so, how was your experience and coverage? I have 4 lines (2 adults, 2 teenagers). I'm trying to reduce our expenses, and I'm starting to getting pretty choked at forking over close to 400 a month to Rogers...
Ironhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 06:18 PM   #1154
keratosis
First Line Centre
 
keratosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Half that with Koodo. 4 lines 4GB a piece. You really need to shop around.
Edit, just took my own advice and bumped our plans to 6GB for the same price.
Sent from my SM-A715W using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
Originally posted by Bingo.
Maybe he hates cowboy boots.

Last edited by keratosis; 01-19-2021 at 06:28 PM.
keratosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 10:58 PM   #1155
Rejean31
Franchise Player
 
Rejean31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Central Alberta
Exp:
Default

Absolutely garbage customer service. Used to be great but sucks balls now. I just spent the entire evening trying to sign up for Centre Ice, only to be lied to by someone claiming to be in Vancouver, but he said he wasn't in Canada. When I told him I wanted to sign up for Centre Ice he told me my Shaw cable account was to old and was now grandfathered and because of that he wouldn't be able to add Centre Ice. He would have to move me to a new programming platform. So then I tried chat and after farting around looking for serial numbers on the back of my cable boxes that the chat agent kept telling me were wrong only to have chat say it was closed for the day. I am so disgusted. 2 years ago when I signed up I spoke to an agent in Calgary and he flipped some switch and while I was talking to him I had Centre Ice.
__________________
Food for thought: the Oilers last 3 years have been the worst statistical 3 year span in NHL history.
Rejean31 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Rejean31 For This Useful Post:
Old 01-20-2021, 11:17 PM   #1156
Hockeyguy15
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Exp:
Default

Don't you just sign in to your account and add it? Easy and quick.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by calgaryblood View Post
Looks like you'll need one long before I will. May I suggest deflection king?
Hockeyguy15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 11:31 PM   #1157
Rejean31
Franchise Player
 
Rejean31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Central Alberta
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeyguy15 View Post
Don't you just sign in to your account and add it? Easy and quick.
I made the mistake of dialing the number it gives you on the guide to order it. What a waste of an evening.
__________________
Food for thought: the Oilers last 3 years have been the worst statistical 3 year span in NHL history.
Rejean31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 08:10 AM   #1158
Izzle
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Exp:
Default

Anyone else Shaw internet down? None of my computers connect to the net. I'm using my cell phone network to get online now.
Izzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 08:16 AM   #1159
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Izzle View Post
Anyone else Shaw internet down? None of my computers connect to the net. I'm using my cell phone network to get online now.
Mine is fine here, and at the office downtown.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 01-21-2021, 08:23 AM   #1160
Izzle
Scoring Winger
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
Mine is fine here, and at the office downtown.
Thanks for the response.

I did the ol' "turn it off and on again" on the router and it seemed to do the trick.
Izzle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Izzle For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.

Calgary Flames
2019-20




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016