Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Tech Talk
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-16-2008, 12:40 AM   #1
Tower
Lifetime Suspension

Exp:
Default Serious need of help

My pc broke down.

I did a restart and when it was powering up the screen remained blank.

Checked the v-card - nothing

No comp beeps when it starts up.

took out memory one at a time

removed other hardware one at a time. nothing

Deduced it was the motherboard and bought a new one. nothing

Currently I'm a poor as fata student and can't get a new pc - anyone with comp experience that is willing to help?

Thanks guys/gals
Tower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2008, 12:48 AM   #2
Hemi-Cuda
wins 10 internets

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower View Post
My pc broke down.

I did a restart and when it was powering up the screen remained blank.

Checked the v-card - nothing

No comp beeps when it starts up.

took out memory one at a time

removed other hardware one at a time. nothing

Deduced it was the motherboard and bought a new one. nothing

Currently I'm a poor as fata student and can't get a new pc - anyone with comp experience that is willing to help?

Thanks guys/gals
if it doesn't even post and you're sure the video card is good, it's likely the power supply. do the fans kick in when you power it up (especially the vid card fan)? or do you see an LED on your motherboard light up when the power is on? regardless with those symptoms and the steps you've said you've taken, i'm almost positive it's the PSU. luckily you can get a base end one for around $40-50, so replacing it isn't that big of a deal