Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 05-17-2017, 10:43 AM   #1
t0rrent98
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:
Default Skate Sharpening 101

I'm fairly new to this skate sharpening thing as a forward and as a goalie. What cuts are recommended for a beginner skater? I'm about 6'0 tall and weigh about 163lb on a good day. I think my current cut at the moment is 1/2". I can't tell if my skates are getting dull after playing about 4-5 games or if its just digging into the ice when I try skating.

Also, how many hours or games would you have to resharpen the skates? I've heard its all by preference and for a beginner we should try at least 10 games and work from there.

I was also told to get my skates sharpened at VIVO from the skate doctor for the best results. Any other recommendations on where they do a good job on skate sharpening?

Thanks. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

CPHL Dallas Stars
t0rrent98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 10:50 AM   #2
billybob123
Powerplay Quarterback

Exp:

Shout out to Kutting Edge at Bowness arena, they do a really good job and the guy running it is a coach in our association.

I get my skates sharpened when I find I'm losing my edge on the ice. Usually 10 ice times or so, more often if it's outdoors or chewed up ice.
billybob123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 10:53 AM   #3
Weitz
Franchise Player

Exp:

If you are new try a couple different cuts to see what you like.

How often you get it done is personal preference.

I play about 40-50 ice times a year and will get my skates sharpened 3 maybe 4 times. I don't use them outside though.
Weitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2017, 11:36 AM   #4
CMPunk
aka Spike

Exp:

Come see Gus at Breakaway Sports up at Winsport. Ex Flames equipment guy, so he knows his skates.
CMPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CMPunk For This Useful Post:
Old 05-17-2017, 11:45 AM   #5
Swayze11