Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 01-29-2011, 10:56 PM   #1
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default TELUS Optik TV Thread

Figured since a lot of people like me have switched to optik a thread would be useful. Some basic information for Optik
http://www.telus.com/content/tv/optik/

The "profiles" for TV you will hear people talk about a lot is how much bandwidth is available for your service. They come in several flavours:
  • 26 meg profile. This will allow you 3 HD and 1 SD at once, meaning you could watch 3 high def shows and a 4th channel in standard.
  • 19 meg profile. This will allow you 2 HD and 1 SD. This comes in both A and V... don't worry too much about that for now.
  • 15 meg profile. The is the bare bones profile. 1 HD and 2 SD.
For all those who sign up recently and get an upgrade from the older platform "minerva", you will be put on the actiontec router. This is a switch and router/modem in one. You must have the actiontec router nowadays.
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theonlywhiteout For This Useful Post:
Old 01-29-2011, 10:56 PM   #2
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

A neat feature of Optik is the ability for Microsoft to upgrade the service with software updates. Some future upgrades that are coming:
  • Set a maximum number of episodes within a series that your PVR will record and store
  • Decide which series recordings will have a priority in case of recording conflict
  • Delete all recorded episodes of a series at one time on your PVR
  • View favourites or add a channel to your favourites list using the Options button on the remote control.
These are all updates that exist on AT&T uverse, and are definitly coming. Rumoured improvements are an ability to watch recorded content on your PVR from a smart phone or a PC.

Also, I've heard that TELUS will be adding a 2nd SD stream soon to all profiles.
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 12:37 PM   #3
FlamesKickAss
Franchise Player
 
FlamesKickAss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

How does one get on the 3 hd streams??
FlamesKickAss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:07 PM   #4
silentsim
#1 Goaltender
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlamesKickAss View Post
How does one get on the 3 hd streams??
Have to be in an area that has Optik Turbo
silentsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 02:10 PM   #5
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

3 HD streams means you're in an area thats either fed with fibre to the node or to the curb. If you're in a condo or appartment, chances are good you'll either be fibre now or soon.

There's also a lot of houses in neighborhood being fed with fibre to the main node. From there, the last mile is still copper but thanks to VDSL you can still get great speeds like 26. If you're not getting 3 HD feeds call telus and ask them if you can get it... if they've done upgrades in your areas they can switch your port
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 02:54 PM   #6
Madman
#1 Goaltender
 
Madman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Exp:
Default

Love my Optik, (have had it since the first day it was released), and it's even better now with the VDSL upgrade and 3 HD streams.
__________________
Madman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 06:11 PM   #7
HotHotHeat
Franchise Player
 
HotHotHeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NW Calgary
Exp:
Default

They told me I'm on a 32 mb profile
HotHotHeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:02 PM   #8
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

theres so no such thing as a 32 meg profile
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:17 PM   #9
PsnaP
Crash and Bang Winger
 
PsnaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theonlywhiteout View Post
3 HD streams means you're in an area thats either fed with fibre to the node or to the curb.
Unless your 3 blocks from the CO, every Optik TV area has fibre to the node.
PsnaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:37 PM   #10
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PsnaP View Post
Unless your 3 blocks from the CO, every Optik TV area has fibre to the node.
I can't say that's necessarily true. Infact I'm faily sure that's wrong
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:39 PM   #11
PsnaP
Crash and Bang Winger
 
PsnaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theonlywhiteout View Post
I can't say that's necessarily true. Infact I'm faily sure that's wrong
Oh... Can you explain it to me?
PsnaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:44 PM   #12
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Fibre is expensive and time consuming to lay down. TELUS simply hasn't had the time or the money to hook everyone up. What gets people to the 26 and 19 meg profiles is the VDSL technology, not necessarily fibre optic cable
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 08:51 PM   #13
PsnaP
Crash and Bang Winger
 
PsnaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theonlywhiteout View Post
Fibre is expensive and time consuming to lay down. TELUS simply hasn't had the time or the money to hook everyone up. What gets people to the 26 and 19 meg profiles is the VDSL technology, not necessarily fibre optic cable
Youre right in saying that fibre is expensive, and time consuming to install. But this has been what TELUS has spent the last 4 years doing and millions of dollars investing in. The DSL equipment isnt necessarily located in the COs.

If youre interested in learning more... Id be happy to help you.
PsnaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:03 PM   #14
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

TELUS employee I take it?
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:04 PM   #15
PsnaP
Crash and Bang Winger
 
PsnaP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Exp:
Default

I can not confirm nor deny your allegations.

PsnaP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 09:09 PM   #16
theonlywhiteout
Lifetime Suspension
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

Pm me lol
theonlywhiteout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 08:41 PM   #17
4X4
One of the Nine
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Exp:
Default

I'm officially on the Telus bandwagon. I called Shaw last month to see if they could come anywhere close to matching what Telus offered me, and the loser I talked to pretty much told me I was BSing him. Now, my gf works for telus in the call center. I'm pretty sure I trust her numbers. I didn't bother telling the Shaw guy that, since I figured he would think that I was getting some kind of discount. One thing I've learned through my gf is that they will put notes on your file (well, we all know that), but they'll label you a "soft shopper" if you have the habit of calling in periodically and checking to make sure that you're getting the best deal.

It is complete BS when they tell you you're getting the best deal. There's almost always a better one, but you'll only get it offered to you if you haven't pissed them off. I must have pissed off the dbag I was talking to, because when I told him what Telus offered, he told me to go to Telus. So I did. Thank you, buddy. I'm way happier with what I've got now. More channels. Way more channels. And all repeating channels from the different time zones, plus the whole dealy where I can record on one PVR, then watch it on the one in the bedroom later.

Shaw, you suck. Sayanara.
__________________
No SMUGNESS intended!!!
4X4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:06 PM   #18
Boblobla
Franchise Player
 
Boblobla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I am going to be moving to Telus right away. The BS about a "grandfathered" package that gets me less channels because I have been a shaw subscriber for a long time pisses me off.
__________________

Thanks to HD for the sig.
Boblobla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 10:07 PM   #19
TheyCallMeBruce
Likes Cartoons
 
TheyCallMeBruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Exp:
Default

LOL shaw is going downhill. I called the CSR and basically just told him I would like to cancel their stupid internet. Right off the bat he becomes defensive and asks if I'm switching to Telus. I told him that what telus is offering me is too good and cost considerably less than what Shaw is offering.

Can't wait for my Telus optik package.
__________________
Visit my gaming channel!
TheyCallMeBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2011, 12:13 PM   #20
VladtheImpaler
Franchise Player
 
VladtheImpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Calgary
Exp:
Default

I have the whole Shaw bundle (phone, net, TV) and it looks like I can get the same service for about $50 less through Telus. I heard bad things about Telus before, but does the Optik stuff make it much better?
__________________
Cordially as always,
Vlad the Impaler

Please check out http://forum.calgarypuck.com/showthr...94#post3726494

VladtheImpaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:27 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016