Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 05-31-2012, 08:11 PM   #1
Sopure
Backup Goalie

Exp:
icon54 Need advice on mortgage rates!

Thanks everyone for reading and offering advice.

I recently pretty well sealed the deal on a new place and I need some input. Everyone in my inner circle (family and friends) seems to be split on what I should do-- that's why I'm reaching out. I'm an avid reader of all your posts for a few years now, and I only made an account for posting about a few months ago.

Option 1.)
The rate is 3.19% for 5 years. I can pay 20% against principal every year. There are payout penalties.

Option 2.)
The rate is 3.99% for 10 years. I can pay 10% against principal every year. There's also some payout penalties.

I'm a bit new to all this-- and I need some input. If you need more specific information, I can provide. Just curious as to what the community thinks.

I realize there is probably an interest rate thread-- I just thought I'd throw it out there and see if anyone responds.

I appreciate any and all advice. Seeing how this goes. Thanks CP.

Sopure

Last edited by Sopure; 05-31-2012 at 08:11 PM. Reason: Spelling
Sopure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:03 PM   #2
Sopure
Backup Goalie

Exp:

Thanks man!
Sopure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:22 PM   #3
albertGQ
Franchise Player

Exp:

Where are you getting these rates?

I'd take the 5 year fixed at 3.19%.
What are the variable rates you're offered?
albertGQ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:22 PM   #4
albertGQ
Franchise Player

Exp:

PS: congrats on the purchase! Exciting times!!!
albertGQ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 09:33 PM   #5
Jacks
Franchise Player

Exp: