Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community

Go Back   Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community > Main Forums > The Off Topic Forum > Food and Entertainment
Register Forum Rules FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-04-2018, 04:32 PM   #1
Hack&Lube
Atomic Nerd

Exp:
Default The Guitar Thread

There have been a bunch of older threads (didn't want to necro decade old posts) about recommending guitars or learning guitar. Maybe if there's enough CP interest we can sustain a thread. There's definitely a bunch of CP musicians.

I recently started trying to play again after a year-long hiatus and I've been looking for ways to advance my playing. I'm self taught and have never been great at it. I guess the first step is to get my gear back into shape. I need a proper guitar setup since my strat hasn't seen a setup since I bought it on ebay in 2007 as a beginner and even then I think it was missing some stuff. I've also never had any proper amp or pedals. Any recommendations for local guys or places or anybody to talk to?

I'm also interested in getting a new acoustic since my last acoustic was a cheap Ibanez from 10+ years ago as well. The sound of these Yamaha Transacoustics caught my attention on Youtube recently.

Last edited by Hack&Lube; 02-04-2018 at 04:34 PM.
Hack&Lube is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hack&Lube For This Useful Post:
Old 02-04-2018, 05:10 PM   #2
opendoor
Franchise Player

Exp:

A basic guitar setup is pretty easy to do yourself. Essentially you're just checking the neck straightness, string height, and intonation and then adjusting the truss rod and the saddles as necessary. If you do things methodically and in the correct order it's quite easy and effective. Here's a simple guide:

https://shop.monikerguitars.com/wp-c...SetupGuide.pdf