Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 03-02-2019, 10:22 AM   #1
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default Malwarebytes instability possible warning

So, I woke up this morning, flipped on my computer and it went to update Malwarebytes to a new version. From then on I had my system continually lock and shut down and restart.


I've removed it and everything seems to be ok now. But I thought I would post this just in case.
__________________
There are brave men outside of our gates, lets go kill them
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CaptainCrunch For This Useful Post:
Old 03-02-2019, 01:57 PM   #2
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

add on, just doing a search, there have been some problems with Malwarebytes and its compatibility with Windows 10 and bluescreens of death.


Because I want to have that extra level of security I downloaded and tried out Spybot, and it seems to work very well.
__________________
There are brave men outside of our gates, lets go kill them
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 05:43 PM   #3
Dion
Not a casual user
 
Dion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: A simple man leading a complicated life....
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainCrunch View Post
add on, just doing a search, there have been some problems with Malwarebytes and its compatibility with Windows 10 and bluescreens of death.


Because I want to have that extra level of security I downloaded and tried out Spybot, and it seems to work very well.
I was going to download Malwarebytes and then read your post. You saved me some headaches
__________________
Dion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 06:01 PM   #4
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

Its maddeningly inconsistent though. I loaded it on my dad's PC a while ago, and its run flawlessly.


But everything worked fine for me until today's upgrade, and once I dumped it, my computer has been fine.


I would say its definitely a user beware thing.


Looking at Spybot, I really like it and the immunization feature on the free version is actually pretty cool.
__________________
There are brave men outside of our gates, lets go kill them
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 08:26 AM   #5
DownInFlames
Craig McTavish' Merkin
 
DownInFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainCrunch View Post
So, I woke up this morning, flipped on my computer and it went to update Malwarebytes to a new version. From then on I had my system continually lock and shut down and restart.


I've removed it and everything seems to be ok now. But I thought I would post this just in case.
What antivirus are you using? It might be a conflict causing issues.
DownInFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 08:29 AM   #6
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DownInFlames View Post
What antivirus are you using? It might be a conflict causing issues.

McAfee,


However what makes me think it was Malware, was everything was working great until the version upgrade yesterday. Right after it completed things went haywire
__________________
There are brave men outside of our gates, lets go kill them
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CaptainCrunch For This Useful Post:
Old 03-03-2019, 10:01 AM   #7
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptainCrunch View Post
McAfee
Here's a much quicker way to get rid of such malware than using Malware-Bytes: Link
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TorqueDog For This Useful Post:
Old 03-04-2019, 08:54 AM   #8
Diemenz
First Line Centre
 
Diemenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorqueDog View Post
Here's a much quicker way to get rid of such malware than using Malware-Bytes: Link
Well done
__________________
PSN: Diemenz
Diemenz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Diemenz For This Useful Post:
Old 03-04-2019, 11:55 AM   #9
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diemenz View Post
Well done
I have a client that uses the entire McAfee corporate suite. You want to see a freshly imaged machine run like a bag of s--t, you load the full McAfee corporate suite on it.

You know when you use something like Citrix and you get that little delay / judder when you drag something across your screen? Imagine that happening on your local machine with a local application, and the judder looking more like when you turn on mouse cursor trails.


Spoiler!



If that looks like a desktop experience you want but with a higher delay and impacting every application you use, McAfee can't be beat.
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TorqueDog For This Useful Post:
Old 03-04-2019, 01:09 PM   #10
Bobblehead
Franchise Player
 
Bobblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: in your blind spot.
Exp:
Default

So you were McAfee AND Malwarebytes?
__________________
"The problem with any ideology is that it gives the answer before you look at the evidence."
—Bill Clinton
"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance--it is the illusion of knowledge."
—Daniel J. Boorstin, historian, former Librarian of Congress
"But the Senator, while insisting he was not intoxicated, could not explain his nudity"
—WKRP in Cincinatti
Bobblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 01:52 PM   #11
CaptainCrunch
Norm!
 
CaptainCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Exp:
Default

Yes I was, McAfee was part of my shaw offerings. I used to use AVG, but it didn't work well with my VPN requirements for work.


McAfee has been really stable for me. Up until Sunday morning so was Malewarebytes.
__________________
There are brave men outside of our gates, lets go kill them
CaptainCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 04:03 PM   #12
Buff
Franchise Player
 
Buff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: I don't belong here
Exp:
Default

So, your IT team at work said that McAfee was acceptable? Find a new place to work, they're leading you astray!
Buff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 04:38 PM   #13
jeffporfirio
Scoring Winger
 
jeffporfirio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Exp:
Default

I will tag on to this post for a simple question. Just bought a new Dell for the home, McAffee came pre-installed.
Can you recommend good/cheap alternatives once the trial period is over?
Thanks.
jeffporfirio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 05:08 PM   #14
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Just use Microsoft Security Essentials. It's free, is made by the people who also make all the holes in your OS(for better or worse), and while maybe not the best, it's good enough AV for home.


If you want to pay, ESET makes a good product.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 03-04-2019, 05:11 PM   #15
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Oh, and It's called Windows Defender f you have Win 8 or above.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fuzz For This Useful Post:
Old 03-05-2019, 12:41 PM   #16
TheyCallMeBruce
Likes Cartoons
 
TheyCallMeBruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Exp:
Default

There have been multiple tests that show Windows defender performs no better or worst than the best AVs out there. So you can probably take comfort in that.

https://www.maketecheasier.com/is-wi...r-good-enough/
__________________
Visit my gaming channel!
TheyCallMeBruce is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheyCallMeBruce For This Useful Post:
Old 03-07-2019, 09:48 AM   #17
Firebot
Powerplay Quarterback
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Exp:
Default

Malwarebytes + Windows Defender is all you need. Why would you have McAfee?

I've never had an issue with Malwarbytes (I run the premium version)
Firebot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 02:51 PM   #18
TorqueDog
#1 Goaltender
 
TorqueDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calgary, AB
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firebot View Post
Malwarebytes + Windows Defender is all you need. Why would you have McAfee?
Because Shaw was (is?) giving it away for free to customers. It's hot garbage, but prior to Defender being part of the Windows operating system, it was better than nothing.
__________________
If the Flames are playing, GO FLAMES GO.
If the Jets are playing, GO JE-... nm, ғ**ĸ the Jets.
GO FLAMES GO.
TorqueDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 03:55 PM   #19
zamler
Franchise Player
 
zamler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Exp:
Default

I can intentionally infect a system running Windows Defender very easily most other AV apps no. Defender will inform you of a problem but doesn't stop the infection or will say it removed the files(s) but they are still running.
zamler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 08:30 PM   #20
Tyler12
Backup Goalie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Exp:
Default

https://www.av-test.org/en/antivirus/home-windows/
Tyler12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016