Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 06-22-2019, 09:16 PM   #1
indes
First Line Centre

Exp:
Default Owning an Apartment Building

I was wondering if anyone on here owns an apartment building? I'm looking to diversify my income and was looking for some insights and possible pitfalls.

Looking at prices I'm looking at buildings anywhere from 700k-1M. This has me anywhere from 6-12 units.

Since I'm new to the whole thing my search so far has prioritized buildings that have been recently renovated (within the last 10 years) and the neighborhoods they are in.

I'm not decided either way yet but I am leaning towards using a property management company if I do pursue this.

The general rate of return I've noticed on the properties I'm looking at seem to be in the neighborhood of 1% of the building cost per month (650,000$ building, 6 units, conservative gross income of 6000$/month)

My thoughts are that the condition of the building and the units are the biggest factor.

Does anyone have any experience in this area?
indes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 09:32 PM   #2
Calgary14
First Line Centre

Exp:

Have you been a landlord before? Tenants can cause headaches and this could be multiple headaches at once. But if you're ok with that and can handle the day to day issues (handyman stuff) it may be worth considering. How much financing are you looking at and how will you attract/retain tenants? You mention diversifying your income; I assume you have other investments not related to real estate as part of a balanced portfolio?
Calgary14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 10:37 PM   #3
indes
First Line Centre

Exp:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgary14 View Post