Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 02-29-2020, 06:20 PM   #1081
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Alright so. Further testing shows that...

On wireless, even a good wireless, the Vizios wireless card doesn't handle data well enough for a large 4k HDR movie for plex. But it does ok on netflix streaming. I can watch the highest quality content with dolbyvision and it works perfect.

On wired connection, I can get plex movies to work if the movie file is no more than, say, 60 gig.

*shrug*
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 06:51 PM   #1082
Diemenz
First Line Centre
 
Diemenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Out 403 View Post
Alright so. Further testing shows that...

On wireless, even a good wireless, the Vizios wireless card doesn't handle data well enough for a large 4k HDR movie for plex. But it does ok on netflix streaming. I can watch the highest quality content with dolbyvision and it works perfect.

On wired connection, I can get plex movies to work if the movie file is no more than, say, 60 gig.

*shrug*
It works on other devices Plex app? I use Apple TV’s and one fire stick without issue but on my P series Vizio I was watching a lot of 4K remux streams from Plex when Apple TV went through there brightness issues in iOS 12 without issue.
__________________
PSN: Diemenz
Diemenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 07:35 PM   #1083
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diemenz View Post
It works on other devices Plex app? I use Apple TV’s and one fire stick without issue but on my P series Vizio I was watching a lot of 4K remux streams from Plex when Apple TV went through there brightness issues in iOS 12 without issue.
Yeah I think the vizio plex app combined with the TV's not so great network handling is the issue. I'm going to have to get creative on getting a cable across the room, or flip my room around, or, just play movies in non 4k which.. sucks for a 65" tv.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2020, 09:32 PM   #1084
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

OK so using my Orbi satellite I was able to get a good signal that works by say of ethernet. This causes a secondary issue though, in that when someones in the basement it tries to connect to the satellite not the main router and really makes the wireless bad.

Soooo. I can either turn this thing on and off whenever I use plex, which is not a huge deal i guess, or, more ideally, I can disable the wifi on the orbi satellite which requires telnet which I dont know how to do, or,

Is there such a device that receives a wifi signal and all it does is convert it to ethernet out?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:22 PM   #1085
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Something like this would do it:


https://www.netgear.com/home/product...#tab-techspecs
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:24 PM   #1086
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
I'd want it to not extend the wifi tho. Just an ethernet plug.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:43 PM   #1087
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Ya, it's a wifi bridge so it should receive the wifi, and output wifi AND ethernet. I've got one, but never tested the ethernet, but it should work.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 02:58 PM   #1088
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
Ya, it's a wifi bridge so it should receive the wifi, and output wifi AND ethernet. I've got one, but never tested the ethernet, but it should work.
I just want ethernet tho. No wifi.

At bb buying a powerline adapter.

Well. As much as I don't love powerlines. This seems to work.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary

Last edited by White Out 403; 03-01-2020 at 03:29 PM.
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 04:04 PM   #1089
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Well you did say this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Out 403 View Post
Is there such a device that receives a wifi signal and all it does is convert it to ethernet out?

I'm not sure you can disable the wifi repeat portion, though you probably can. If not you can blackhole it to another SSID so no devices auto connect.
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2020, 06:35 PM   #1090
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Out 403 View Post
Is there such a device that receives a wifi signal and all it does is convert it to ethernet out?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzz View Post
Well you did say this...




I'm not sure you can disable the wifi repeat portion, though you probably can. If not you can blackhole it to another SSID so no devices auto connect.
The key word being all, but, this powerline seems to do the trick really well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 09:55 AM   #1091
Flash Walken
Franchise Player
 
Flash Walken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Out 403 View Post
So it works really well. But I went and checked and did more testing and it looks like it's just the plex app on Vizio that's causing an issue. Wireless I was able to stream Dolby Vision 4k on the native netflix app.

So the question now is, do I want to have a 90 dollar device for use only with plex. Lame.
Didn't realize you were using Plex. Yes, Vizio tvs have bad app performance across the board IMO, also they are monitoring the content you watch.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorsiHockeyLeague View Post
Just because it's related to health care policy does not mean it's related to the response to COVID.
https://streamable.com/dcxaz
Flash Walken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2020, 08:10 PM   #1092
White Out 403
Franchise Player
 
White Out 403's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Exp:
Default

I added a switch to the powerline so now I have my xbox and tv hooked up by ethernet. works fantastic... kinda wish I thought of this earlier.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scorch View Post
Looking forward to the post season when we celebrate the 30th anniversary
White Out 403 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to White Out 403 For This Useful Post:
Old 03-27-2020, 03:50 PM   #1093
Wormius
Franchise Player
 
Wormius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somewhere down the crazy river.
Exp:
Default

I have a regular Apple TV 3rd gen, which basically has Netlfix, Crave, and Youtube. Will I get a lot more content if I moved to a new Apple TV? Like is CBC Gem and Kanopy, etc. supported?
Wormius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:54 PM   #1094
DownInFlames
Craig McTavish' Merkin
 
DownInFlames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wormius View Post
I have a regular Apple TV 3rd gen, which basically has Netlfix, Crave, and Youtube. Will I get a lot more content if I moved to a new Apple TV? Like is CBC Gem and Kanopy, etc. supported?
Yes. Basically any media app on iPhone or iPad is on Apple TV as well.
DownInFlames is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DownInFlames For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:28 PM.

Calgary Flames
2019-20




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016