Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 11-29-2020, 03:55 PM   #1
GullFoss
First Line Centre

Exp:
Default Quantifying the human costs of lockdowns and restrictions

I've been doing a little research into Covid deaths in Alberta, and wanted to share some of the outputs (to the end of October 3rd, 2020). I honestly wasn't looking for this data when I first started and I have some experience working with data - but mostly in a finance role. To my knowledge, this is the first attempt at trying to quantify the human costs of the lockdowns/restrictions. Maybe these findings are nothing - it's possible it's just spurious correlation or I've made a mistake in working the data. So take it for what you want. I'm just sharing.

First, the chart below shows populated adjusted deaths rates relative to 2016 for 2017-2020 by age group. What you can see is that in 2020, the 65-84 and 85+ age cohorts are dying less than in any year between 2016-2019. In contrast, there is a clear jump in death rates for those aged 0-44 and a meaningful rise for those aged 45-64 in 2020. For example, the chart suggests that under-45s in Alberta are dying at a rate that's ~20% in 2020 vs 2016.

The next step is to ask, how many excess deaths have there been in the 0-64 cohort thus far in 2020? The raw data seems to suggest around 650 to October 3, 2020. This compares to 227 people who have died of Covid to October 3, 2020.

"Does it correlate with the lockdowns?" Seemingly...but with a lag.

Well "what is causing the jump in deaths for those under 65?" Unfortunately, I don't have access to this data for 2020. It hasn't been released. But we can look at 2019 data and see how Albertans generally die. Below is a chart outlining that overdoses and suicides are among the largest causes of death for the under-50 cohort. So it's not a stretch to think the majority of those excess deaths in the under-50 cohort were caused by an increase in suicides and overdoses.