Calgarypuck Forums - The Unofficial Calgary Flames Fan Community
Old 12-18-2019, 11:36 AM   #1
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default Auto start remote starters

Anyone have any experience with this brand?

I bought one of their 2 way systems a few years back and have had one thing that bugs me since day 1.

All the features work just fine, only issue is the remote start. I assumed all units like this would stop running the starter motor when it sees a spike in RPM's or cuts it off when a certain level of RPM's is reached. I guess mine does too but it seems really high. Mine seems to keep running the starter motor for a few seconds after the engine has started. Not great for the starter so I tend to use it sparingly.

Is there any way to adjust this? I've seen on other similar systems that you start the car, wait for it to drop to idle, push on the break pedal and depress the remote start button on the FOB. That then tells the system this RPM level is what it waits for before cutting off starter motor.

My fiance has the exact same system and it works just fine for her but hers is an automatic transmission Yaris.

I've looked through all their documentation as well as some google searching but come up with nothing.

My car is manual transmission.

Help?

Last edited by GoinAllTheWay; 12-18-2019 at 12:00 PM. Reason: edited for clarity
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 12:09 PM   #2
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Sounds like an odd problem, maybe start here?


http://autostart.ca/ContactUs/
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 12:44 PM   #3
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

I did that on Sunday, sadly have not heard back from them yet
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 12:45 PM   #4
Fuzz
Franchise Player
 
Fuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Exp:
Default

Jerks!
__________________
Air Canada - We're not happy until you're not happy.
Telus - Almost as bad as Winnipeg.
Calgary Roads Dept - Ya, we'll get to that.
Fuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2019, 01:55 PM   #5
GoinAllTheWay
Franchise Player
 
GoinAllTheWay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not sure
Exp:
Default

Well I'll be damned.....gotta it sorted out.

Spoke with an installer where I got it installed. He gave me instructions that were close. That gave me the idea to look for the actual installation instructions, not just the guide that came with the remote.

After a long series of pushing buttons, turning the car on and depressing the brake at various times, I have it performing as it should.
GoinAllTheWay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Calgary Flames
2017-18




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Calgarypuck 2016