Quote:
Originally Posted by Your Calgary Flames!
How does that work? I missed it when the puck goes in after the whistle.
|
If the puck is in the course of continuous motion into the net when the whistle is blown and isn't knocked in after, the quick whistle does not prevent the goal from counting. If the goalie had moved and knocked it in after it wouldn't have counted. But it was leaking through and there was nothing propelling it besides Hanifin's shot. This has been a rule for a while, I seem to remember a couple of these in the mid 2010s.
The interesting thing would have been if Marner had been in a position to stop it from crossing the line with his stick - he could have argued that the whistle stopped him from doing it. But he wasn't there in time anyway so it's a moot point.