Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamer
There is one replay angle that clearly shows the two players' skates clip each other, and it's just enough to set them off stride. It was incidental contact for sure, but it was still a trip. The cross-check call still puzzles me, but it was a penalty. The most shocking thing about the play is that it wasn't called a penalty shot, but a power-play worked out just fine.
|
A referee friend of mine said it was probably called for cross-checking so they wouldn't have to give a penalty shot. Had it been a trip, they would've had to give the penalty shot, something they were probably not willing to do in OT of the gold medal game.
Not sure how true that is (he's not an elite level official), but it would explain a few things.