12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#341
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Springbank
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Radley
It looks like McGinn did tag up but I thought it looked like Gauthier was inside. All offensive players have to clear the the zone. Gauthier clearly brought the puck in. Should have been offside.
|
Yes, he went out, on review. But it was too late. The puck had already gone back in and was under control by Carolina before he left. He hadn’t got to the line at that point.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#342
|
Franchise Player
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffalufagus
So the gif is up at HF already and my first take appears to be tight notwithstanding the NHL’s incompetence.
It was onside. They tagged up.
|
Carolina had control going across the line, meaning that it is an instantaneous call. You can't tag up in this situation.
__________________
"By Grabthar's hammer ... what a savings."
|
|
|
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Harry Lime For This Useful Post:
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#343
|
Norm!
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffalufagus
So the gif is up at HF already and my first take appears to be tight notwithstanding the NHL’s incompetence.
It was onside. They tagged up.
|
You mean this gif and not the frozen one, this gif that shows the off side
__________________
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings;
Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#344
|
Powerplay Quarterback
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Parkdale
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben voyonsdonc
He didn’t tag up before the puck re-entered the zone. Hence, offside.
|
Yes he did:
https://i.imgur.com/D73CfCa.gif
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#345
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohara66
Go back and watch the relay. The canes player in the center of the ice tags up.
|
Uh, I suggest you watch the actual slow mo replay and think again. He only tagged up after the puck was already brought in by the Canes guy.
|
|
|
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to The Yen Man For This Useful Post:
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:42 PM
|
#346
|
Powerplay Quarterback
|
Fan960 reporting that the official word from the NHL is that both Carolina players tagged up. Sounds like they got it right.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:43 PM
|
#347
|
First Line Centre
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sweden
|
The Flames need to come out playing some angry hockey in the third period. That's for sure.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:43 PM
|
#348
|
#1 Goaltender
|
Wow how did that count? It was clearly offside live at the Dome and even clearer on replay.
The only way the can count that is if they deem the Canes player didn’t possess the puck across the blue line.
__________________
"I think the eye test is still good, but analytics can sure give you confirmation: what you see...is that what you really believe?"
Scotty Bowman, 0 NHL games played
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:43 PM
|
#349
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SW Ontario
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rando
So even if you're right, and I haven't seen the gif yet, the NHL used the wrong reason to call it a goal?
What a zoo crew.
|
I have seen the gif, he is wrong. This is just a poster who refuses to admit it, like the NHL.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:43 PM
|
#350
|
In the Sin Bin
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by rohara66
Go back and watch the relay. The canes player in the center of the ice tags up.
|
After the puck gets chipped back in. Get your eyesight checked friend.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:43 PM
|
#351
|
Resident Videologist
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Calgary
|
https://streamable.com/aybma
I'm at the game so this is the first good look I've had but the Cane that brings it back in doesn't actually touch the puck inside the zone until after the 2nd player tagged up. Looks good to me unfortunately.
When he smacks the puck back in, its a delayed offside but they don't touch it until both players tagged up. That's a good call.
|
|
|
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to AC For This Useful Post:
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#352
|
Franchise Player
|
nm
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#353
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SW Ontario
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duffalufagus
|
Are you blind??? He clearly brings it back in before he tags up.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#354
|
First Line Centre
|
just before 23 tags up.
and just as 23 tags up, 44 is still outside and hasn't touched the puck in the zone.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#355
|
#1 Goaltender
|
I don't understand why Flames fans are so mad/confused about why the first goal counted..
That's onside.
The puck was touched outside the blueline and then wasn't touched again inside the blueline until after McGinn got back onside.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#356
|
Norm!
|
What the frack are you talking about Burke!!!!
__________________
My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings;
Look on my Works, ye Mighty, and despair!
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#357
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary, Alberta
|
Okay, that makes sense now. My bad.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#358
|
That Crazy Guy at the Bus Stop
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Penitentiary
|
Huh. Would you look at that. Good call after all.
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to Cecil Terwilliger For This Useful Post:
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#359
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Calgary
|
What? That explanation doesn't make any sense. Sorry Burke, but you are drunk.
|
|
|
12-14-2019, 03:44 PM
|
#360
|
Franchise Player
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Vancouver
|
Lol @ people trying to defend the call.
|
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.
|
|