Quote:
Originally Posted by taxbuster
I don't think the continuous play rule regards "who" touches the puck after the whistle...just that if it ISN'T touched it's considered a continuous play (ie a bit like the buzzer-beaters in the NBA...the shot is already in the air....and goes in).
Weird rule, because in the NHL if the shot doesn't cross the line prior to the end of the period it's a no goal...but it's a goal if the whistle blows instead.
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
|
I’ll admit, prior to yesterday I had no idea the “continuous play” rule existed. I just have a hard timing squaring that with what happened the previous night in Columbus. Had the referee on Friday said “the whistle was blown before the puck crossed the goal line and there was no continuous play causing the puck to enter the net”, then you have your answer. But to simply say “the whistle was blown before the puck crossed the goal line” only tells you half the story because of how the “continuous play” rule is written.
Weird rule for sure.