| 
	
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:54 PM | #421 |  
	| #1 Goaltender | 
 
			
			It’s odd how on one hand the NHL promotes the skill of its players while ignoring plays of skill in these situations.
 Saying Charlie Coyle didn’t have possession when he went skate-to-stick earlier this season was hilariously bad.
 Today saying the Canes player dumped that in as opposed to an intentional in-possession bank off the boards to himself is also poor judgement.
 
				__________________"I think the eye test is still good, but analytics can sure give you confirmation: what you see...is that what you really believe?"
 Scotty Bowman, 0 NHL games played
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:54 PM | #422 |  
	| Franchise Player | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by GirlySports  That's really a thin line. Pucks are not glued to sticks. Everytime the puck is away from the blade it is not possession? |  
Exactly
		 
				__________________GFG
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
			| The Following User Says Thank You to dino7c For This Useful Post: |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:54 PM | #423 |  
	| Resident Videologist 
				 
				Join Date: Mar 2002 Location: Calgary      | 
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:54 PM | #424 |  
	| That Crazy Guy at the Bus Stop 
				 
				Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Springfield Penitentiary      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by GirlySports  That's really a thin line. Pucks are not glued to sticks. Everytime the puck is away from the blade it is not possession? |  
In the spirit of the way possession is understood, there’s no way anyone would ever consider that possession. 
 
In this case the fact he didn’t touch it absolutely does matter.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:55 PM | #425 |  
	| Franchise Player | 
 
			
			The part that confuses me is I thought everyone needs to clear the zone. If one player clears and enters again before the other clears that seems like everyone didn't tag up.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:55 PM | #426 |  
	| Powerplay Quarterback 
				 
				Join Date: Mar 2017 Location: Parkdale      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by GirlySports  That's really a thin line. Pucks are not glued to sticks. Everytime the puck is away from the blade it is not possession? |  
He has to battle the man before getting the puck back.  That is not possession.  At all.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:55 PM | #427 |  
	| Franchise Player 
				 
				Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: Calgary, Alberta      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Flames Draft Watcher  That is not a dump in. He tries to stick handle into the zone |  
Call it whatever you want. Fact is, he didn't touch the puck when it crossed the blue line, and each Cane player was tagged up, and thus onside when they retrieved the puck.
 
It's a technically of the rule that make it look so jarring at first, but makes sense now.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:55 PM | #428 |  
	| Powerplay Quarterback 
				 
				Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Calgary      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Hackey  The part that confuses me is I thought everyone needs to clear the zone. If one player clears and enters again before the other clears that seems like everyone didn't tag up. |  
Everyone tagged up before it was touched.
		 
				__________________Fire Geoff Ward.
 
 Into the Sun.
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:56 PM | #429 |  
	| Scoring Winger 
				 
				Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Calgary      | 
 
			
			You also gotta remember that the league usually sticks with the call on the ice unless its blatantly incorrect. IMO this one could go either way, but unfortunately for the Flames I do think the right call was made here.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:56 PM | #430 |  
	| Franchise Player 
				 
				Join Date: Oct 2014 Location: Springbank      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Cecil Terwilliger  In this case it does. This isn’t just the normal distance the puck may leave a puck carriers stick while naturally skating with possession of the puck. 
 He clearly knocks it in. Not carries it in.
 
 That was 100% a goal. No doubt about it. At all.
 |  
There’s plenty of doubt.  Lots of people here doubt it.  Sutter doubts it.  Ball doubts it (and IMO he’s got the best vision in the business).
 
Just because the puck gets a little ahead of you for a half second and you recover it before anyone else can, it doesn’t mean you lost possession.  Players push the puck ahead and catch up all the time.  That to me is possession.  The puck was never more than a couple feet offf his stick.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:56 PM | #431 |  
	| First Line Centre | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by The Yen Man  But it wasn't a freaking chip in. Some of you guys need to get some better glasses. |  
Haha what? He chipped it back into the zone, he certainly didn’t carry it back in.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:56 PM | #432 |  
	| #1 Goaltender | 
 
			
			Only thing left to do is win the whole effing thing.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:56 PM | #433 |  
	| Franchise Player | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by GranteedEV  Watching that replay again, boy did Hamonic fall asleep there.  They didn't even have numbers. |  
So this is the second game in a row you thought he should have been scratched?
 
You were dead wrong last game and you’re senseless rhetoric is getting monotonous 
 
Give it a rest.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
			| The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timbit For This Useful Post: |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:57 PM | #434 |  
	| Franchise Player 
				 
				Join Date: Oct 2014 Location: Springbank      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Duffalufagus  He has to battle the man before getting the puck back.  That is not possession.  At all. |  
He didn’t really battle.  He had position from the get go.  Even if he did, guys with possession battle like that all the time.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:57 PM | #435 |  
	| Franchise Player 
				 
				Join Date: Mar 2002 Location: Calgary      | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by GirlySports  That's really a thin line. Pucks are not glued to sticks. Everytime the puck is away from the blade it is not possession? |  
Offside is called when a puck is touched with a stick or part of the body while someone is in an offside position.  
Puck wasn't touched while any one was in an offside position.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:58 PM | #436 |  
	| Franchise Player | 
 
			
			Darren's great but he's blown there too.  Everyone needs to clear the zone not just the guy who was offside on the entry.
 
 Even if the argument that Gauthier didn't have possession on the entry stands - which is laughable, he entered the zone while his team was offside and would have needed to go back and tag up before touching it himself.
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:58 PM | #437 |  
	| Franchise Player | 
 
			
			And the screen captures are great and all but do any of them show if McGinn's skate is even on the ice? It could be 1 mm off the ice and therefore offside. Just a stupid, stupid decision without taking any time to properly review the call. I can guarantee it would not take 12 seconds to review if it was a Leaf game.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:58 PM | #438 |  
	| First Line Centre | 
 
			
			It was 100% on side. Cassie is wrong and posters here are wrong. 
 Read the rule book and check yo glasses people.
 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:59 PM | #439 |  
	| #1 Goaltender | 
 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Zarley  Haha what? He chipped it back into the zone, he certainly didn’t carry it back in. |  
Please advise as to the difference between a chip, dump and carrying the puck. Is stick handling just a series of chips you catch up with while skating?
 
Also, the NHL changing their reasoning on the ruling is very telling.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
			| The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Infinit47 For This Useful Post: |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		|  12-14-2019, 03:59 PM | #440 |  
	| Commie Referee 
				 
				Join Date: Oct 2002 Location: Small town, B.C.      | 
 
			
			Should have been 3-0. Wake up boys, there's lots of time. Get going.
		 |  
	|   |  |  
	
		
	
	
	
		
	
	
	
	
	| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |  
	|  |  |  
	| 
	|  Posting Rules |  
	| 
		
		You may not post new threads You may not post replies You may not post attachments You may not edit your posts 
 HTML code is Off 
 |  |  |  All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM. | 
 
 
 |