You make the call
Here's a hypothetical situation that could occur in an amateur hockey game. OK, it actually did happen. In your opinion, was the ref out to lunch or does he make the right call?
Team A leads Team B by one goal with 38 seconds remaining in the game. The puck is dropped in Team A's zone. Team B has the goaltender on the bench. The timekeeper forgets to start the clock. It's unclear how much time may have elapsed before the clock starts. At the next whistle with 13 seconds remaining, the referee instructs the timekeeper to reset the clock to 3 seconds. The referee does not consult with the timekeeper to determine how much time may have elapsed. The ref even admits he doesn't know how long the clock was stopped, but insists it must have been at least 10 seconds.
The timekeeper in this league is paid for his/her time and not associated with either team. The referee is not carrying a stopwatch.
|