so today we had a goal called off and I am just not sure if I dont understand the rule or if the ref didnt understand it ... I think the latter but here is what happened.
I take a shot and it deflects off a defenders stick into the air toward the goalie.. One of our guys is standing in front of the net and it hits him in the chest, then his glove. He swats the puck down and it hits his stick and deflects/ goes ( he might have #### it) into the net . We celebrate .. YAYAYYY ! The ref calls it off. I am not sure why so I ask him after the game. I ask after the game bc he said if anyone questions a call today , straight to the box. .
He told me this "He said it hit your player in the chest , then the glove and he threw it down. It hit off his stick and went in the goal. NO goal."
I said "so he scored and you didnt understand the rule so you called it off.
He said "no thats illegal , directing it into the net with a glove or I could have called a handpass "
I said " But he didnt direct it towards the net he directed ,by your own admission, to his stick and then into the net. Thats called a shot? "
He told me " Call Toronto!"

Obviously I know its not a hand pass bc he touched it first after it hit his glove. Am I out to lunch here or is the ref an idiot? It didnt matter bc we won , but we 3-2 so it could have mattered. Plus it would have been that guys first goal of the season... and a point for me

!