View Single Post
Old 08-27-2007, 08:33 PM   #31
Maritime Q-Scout
Ben
 
Maritime Q-Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: God's Country (aka Cape Breton Island)
Exp:
Default

Wait a second, does this make sense to anyone else?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Save Us Sutter View Post
Rule 10.19 of the Rules of Baseball

The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when such pitcher meets all four of the following conditions:

(1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
(2) He is not the winning pitcher;
(3) He is credited with at least a third of an inning pitched; and
(4) He satisfies one of the following conditions:

(a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches at least one inning;
(b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck; or
(c) He pitches for at least three innings.

In order to finish the game you have to end on an out, which would count as 1/3 of an inning. So isn't rule Rule 10.19(3) a redundancy of rule Rule 10.19(1)?

PS: Is redundancy a real word, or did I just make that up?
__________________

"Calgary Flames is the best team in all the land" - My Brainwashed Son
Maritime Q-Scout is offline   Reply With Quote