View Single Post
Old 01-19-2024, 12:08 AM   #7
TrentCrimmIndependent
Franchise Player
 
TrentCrimmIndependent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Richmond upon Thames, London
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dieHARDflameZ View Post
What happened tonight had zero effect on the Flames scoring that goal. Literally multiple passes and hockey plays occurred after the “hand pass”. Just a garbage rule that needs to be looked at and changed in my opinion.
If the officials miss it during the play (because it wasn't obvious enough to them), whatever follows needs to count. Otherwise you're redacting too much game play and that kills the product.

Bringing back goals only makes sense for conclusive offsides. Those are at least pretty black and white and won't leave confusion, as opposed to this.

It's way too 'interpretive' for my taste. And we don't know who's on the phone making said interpretations and the final determination, but what they say goes and we'll get no breakdown of how they came to that conclusion.

It seems like on that call they were so focused on pinpointing whether there was even the smallest of contact, that they forgot to vet it for the other part of the rule that states that it's a hand pass if it's directed towards a teammate or provides an advantage. Not sure how a glance that merely affects the spin on the puck heading for two players that had equal opportunity to try to handle it qualifies as directed to a teammate (Coleman didn't even think it hit him, so I don't see how he consciously does anything).

Last edited by TrentCrimmIndependent; 01-19-2024 at 12:23 AM.
TrentCrimmIndependent is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to TrentCrimmIndependent For This Useful Post: