Quote:
Originally Posted by browna
Fair enough. I still see offensive zone stoppage, hand pass on that NHL ruling.
And the rules states the puck can be batted, and that's still what occured IMO
Forsberg tried to bat it to himself and he reached his stick over trying to put it in. If he somehow scored they it would be much more debatable whether he batted it to a spot to gain an advantage (yes)...but IMO he didn't grab it, squeeze it and thrown it as is being contended.
|
They only reviewed the hand pass, the ruling explicitly stats that. It's "Offensive Zone Stoppage - Hand Pass", that's how it's classified.
And it is not batted. It was not above the bar already as you previously stated.
Watch the replay again. He catches it almost by his hip, doesn't fully close his hand but his fingers do close a little to secure the puck, and throws it above the cross bar. The puck is in his hand too long to be classified as a "bat", he cradled it and elevates it.
https://x.com/ringoffirecgy/status/1...390635575?s=46