Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurs
It’s not semantics at all, he didn’t close his hand there is no semantics there in any way.
I am just talking about what actually happened and your reaction to it.
|
You don't actually have to close your hand, catching it and throwing it the way he did should be a penalty.
Here's the rule:
67.2 Minor Penalty – Player - A player shall be permitted to catch the puck out of the air but must immediately place it or knock it down to the ice. If he catches it and skates with it, either to avoid a check or to gain a territorial advantage over his opponent, a minor penalty shall be assessed for “closing his hand on the puck”.
He didn't immediately place it or knock it down to the ice. He caught it and carried / threw it to try to gain a territorial advantage.
That should have been a penalty.