Thread: Golf!!!2!
View Single Post
Old 10-21-2022, 10:22 PM   #5891
Lanny_McDonald
Franchise Player
 
Lanny_McDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slava View Post
I understand what a provisional is (god knows I’ve had to hit enough of them!). I just wanted clarification because Lanny said you can’t hit that next shot from the tee, and you can for sure. Maybe it’s not advisable, but I think it probably depends on the scenario to an extent.

Anyway…interesting rule that I wasn’t aware of. I’ve hit close to a red stake before and hit a provisional for sure. I’m not ashamed to say that I didn’t know you can’t do that and no one has ever mentioned it to me. Not that I’m anywhere near Q school or playing for real money though!
Read what I said again.

"A ball hit into a hazard of any type does not allow for a provisional. This is a very basic rule. You hit into a hazard, you must play from the hazard, take relief from within the hazard, or drop as the rules of golf demand. There is no teeing up another from the tee box if you hit something into an area marked with yellow or red stakes."

This is speaking directly to the provisional and why that rule caught the player. You can't hit another tee ball if you hit into a hazard unless you are declaring the first ball abandoned, which a provisional declaration does not do. The rules of the hazard apply and the appropriate drop scenarios have to be observed, including the option of going back to the tee - which as you said is not advisable. As you pointed out, stroke and distance advantage should be weighed into the decision, but you also need to be aware that a provisional is not allowed and in playing that ball you immediately abandon the ball in the hazard and are not hitting your 4th shot from the resulting location of that tee ball. This is a confusing rule because people assume a provisional is always allowed, but as outlined, it does not. Hopefully this is something that will help you if you ever are playing match play.
Lanny_McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Lanny_McDonald For This Useful Post: