Thread: Golf!!!2!
View Single Post
Old 10-21-2022, 04:09 PM   #5883
Lanny_McDonald
Franchise Player
 
Lanny_McDonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slava View Post
But if he hits it off the tee and thinks it's in the water, he can tee up and hit three from the tee, right? Like it's not him thinking it's a provisional...he just thinks that ball is gone.
No. A ball hit into a hazard of any type does not allow for a provisional. This is a very basic rule. You hit into a hazard, you must play from the hazard, take relief from within the hazard, or drop as the rules of golf demand. There is no teeing up another from the tee box if you hit something into an area marked with yellow or red stakes.

Quote:
The issue comes when he walks up and his ball isn't actually gone. He thought it was wet, it's not and he thinks, "well, I have to play the first one here", which makes sense to me and seems like an easy mistake. Sure, someone should've said something, but that's the part where it's obscure, not the second tee shot.
The problem is he hit a second ball. Once he does the first ball no longer exists because of the conditions he has hit into. If he thinks there is a possibility he got through, he should search and make an determination. If the ball is lost, then take the drop according to the rules based on the staking of the hazard. This claim that this is an obscure rule is really specious as it is a pretty consistent interpretation if the player knows the rules of the color of stakes. If the stakes were white, he would have a leg to stand on. Because it was a hazard means he put a ball into play and has live with that shot even if he finds the original.
Lanny_McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote