Thread: Golf!!!2!
View Single Post
Old 10-21-2022, 05:34 AM   #5871
nfotiu
Franchise Player
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleK View Post
You can only hit a provisional if the ball is thought to be lost or OB. You can't "lose" a ball in a penalty area. Even though the ball is found in the penalty area he's has to play his 4th shot from the fairway.

I really doubt that a rules official being called to the scene on the hole in question would have gotten it right, this situation is that obscure.

This whole thing sucks for everyone involved, especially since jobs are on the line. Hopefully he can Monday into some tournaments this year and get enough points to get some status.
The part I don’t understand is why even bring up the obscure part of the rule? It doesn’t sound like he even announced it as a provisional. It makes sense that he wouldn’t since he saw it splash. Without announcing it. The second ball is in play and that is a rule he should know about.

Did they dq him on the obscure rule because it’s less subjective than him maybe claiming he muttered provisional and no one heard?
nfotiu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nfotiu For This Useful Post: