Quote:
Originally Posted by Erick Estrada
Maurice makes it sound like it's the first time he's ever seen an official change his call after consulting with the other official and linesmen. It's likely one official just saw the aftermath and called it a goal while the other saw the interference beforehand and told him to which they changed the call to no goal. That's why the officials get together to consult when one of them sees something the other may not have or had a better view.
|
Sounded more to me like he thought since they wavered on the initial call, that there was room enough for doubt to make them losing their time out worth them taking an extra look to decide.
The rule does seem to state it will be ruled no goal if the contact is in the crease. It does NOT however say it is to be ruled a goal if contact takes place out of the crease.
I feel like we got burned on this technicality before very recently, no?