Well, that was one of the strangest video reviews I've ever seen.
Minnesota had the puck in the zone and Chicago cleared it out. The Wild players all moved to clear the zone and a Wild d-man passed the puck from the neutral zone to Coyle who was standing outside the zone at that point. Meanwhile, Parise was still on his way out of the zone when Coyle appeared to touch the puck with his stick, which was inside the zone, but Coyle himself wasn't in the zone. Parise cleared the zone before Coyle crossed the line himself.
They went in and scored. Chicago challenged, and after a lengthy review, it was ruled inconclusive.
It's a weird one because it would have been a delayed offside, so Parise can still be in the zone while the puck is in the zone as long as Coyle didn't touch the puck while Parise was offside. The linesmen had to determine where Parise's skates were when Coyle touched the puck. Because he was clearing the zone, he only had to be in contact with the blue line with one skate to be back onside. They ruled that it was inconclusive as to exactly when Coyle made contact with the puck.
__________________
Turn up the good, turn down the suck!
|