View Single Post
Old 07-07-2016, 01:56 PM   #1943
Itse
Franchise Player
 
Itse's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by devo22 View Post
seeing it again in the replay, that's a brilliant penalty call. Kudos to the ref.
Just no, terrible refereeing. "Handling the ball involves a deliberate act of a player making contact with the ball with his hand or arm." Calling that deliberate is a joke.

On the other hand, knocking the opposing player down actually does NOT have to be deliberate to be worth a penalty kick. The referee is operating from his very own rulebook, saving the clearly worse teams hide in the process.

Should be 1-0 or 2-0 for Germany. Worst refereeing of the tournament in the otherwise best game.
Itse is offline   Reply With Quote