View Single Post
Old 04-05-2016, 08:42 PM   #179
puffnstuff
Franchise Player
 
puffnstuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: wearing raccoons for boots
Exp:
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAlpineOracle View Post
Bautista reached out and grabbed the guys leg. Had he just slid into second there wouldn't have been an issue.
From the rule I read, his hand reaching out is not covered by the rule. The only thing he didnt do was stay in contact with the bag.

The runner must begin the slide -- i.e., make contact with the ground -- before he reaches the bag.
The runner must slide within reach of the bag and not change direction in order to make contact with the pivot man.
The runner must not only make contact with the bag with his hand or foot but also remain in contact with the bag for the duration of the slide.


Tough to change after youve been playing to take out the player for the last 20 years.
puffnstuff is offline   Reply With Quote